Cowboy Bake Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I have made this recipe since I was a young girl. We call them Ranch style beans but it is almost exactly the same. Any kind of bean combination you like but drain the kidney beans. I like a mix of kidney, chili and a whilte bean such as pork and beans. I use ketchup instead of soup and a heaping TBLSP each of yellow mustard, cider vinegar and brown sugar. sometimes I add bacon sometimes I don't. sometimes add corn bread on top. Perfect with fried taters. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Yummy! I liked this super simple recipe. I have a recipe similar to this that I couldn't find. It had bacon in it. That would be my only recommendation for an additional ingredient. Great camping dish or potluck dish. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Excellent!! I only made a couple small changes... I added crisp bacon and eliminated the wax beans for another can of white or kidney....I threw it all in the crock pot and it was raved on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This is a great dish, hearty and healthy. I take my in-laws casseroles often and they love this one, especially after adding chicken broth to make it more of a soup. I would have tried beef broth, but they were extremely happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
the brown sugar was a lil too much but other than that it was pretty tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I thought this recipe was great to make my own version. i did not use kidney beans, but used a variety of others. I used 1/4 cup brown sugar 3/4 cup of molasses, for a double batch. I added 1/2 lb of cooked crumbled bacon as well. This recipe was made for a large party and turned out quite well, I used a crock pot on low for 6 hours stirring occasionally and taste testing after 4 hours. This is a great recipe to modify to each individuals taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
My family loves this recipe. I've altered it a little, not as much brown sugar and added some cooked, crumbled bacon. I make my broccoli/cheese cornbread with it. It's a favorite meal with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This was the first recipe from this site that I didnt really like. I was looking for something with the consistancy of baked beans but this recipe came out more like chili con carne. I took these on a 5 day campout with a total of 7 people and there was still probably half the pot left over at the end of the trip. Not bad but not a big hit since there were other items there that were gobbled up the first day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Macy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
1 cup of brown sugar! Yikes. I knew that would be way way way way too sweet for me. Everything else looked so good, so I made this anyway, but instead of that sugar used about 1/8 cup of honey. Only had 1 lb of ground beef, and added 6 pieces of cooked, chopped turkey bacon. My dried mustard was dead, so I threw it in the garbage and used a few tablespoons of grainy dijon. Also added a goodly handful of hot pepper flakes. Used a can of black beans instead of the wax, but I think almost any bean mix would work with this. The key, I think, is in the chili beans and the soup as a base plus the mustard and a tinge of sweetness and the smokey bacon that I added. Works so well!!! Made it in the slow cooker according to the instructions(6 hours on low). My tweaked recipe results I'd give a 5 star. I love love love love this. Had a snow storm this morning and this was a perfect dinner for this kind of a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
We loved these as a meal with buiscuits. Also would be great as a side dish. I cut the sugar also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States