Cow Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I love these! They are very easy to make and remind of Chunky candy bars that I ate as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
So delicious and so simple! Go ahead and use any old nut you want! They are scrumptious and I personally love them with walnuts, but hubby likes them with cashews. That's the beauty of this recipe - it works deliciously with a variety of nuts and if you don't like raisins (I love them!), then go ahead and leave them out. Prefer your chocolate a bit more rich and deep? Use semi sweet chocolate chips. :-) I've even been known to throw in coconut, mint chips, peanut butter chips, etc. (Just not all at the same time!) ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
we found these just too sweet with the milk chocolate - and i even added more raisins and almonds. easy to make, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These were easy (especially since I microwaved my chocolate to melt it instead of breaking out the steamy double-boiler) and tasty. I used pretzels and cheerios in place of the almonds. Next time would probably add more raisins, but overall yummy enough to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This was SO easy to make! I needed something fast and easy for a potluck party. I followed the directions exactly except I only had walnuts. So with walnuts, raisins, it was GREAT. I used the Barefoot Contessa's trick and added 1 teaspoon of instant coffee to brighten the chocolate flavor...this was amazing. I almost didn't want to share! Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katelyn Bellingham

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This recipe is wonderful, easy, and fast to make. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins and they were delicious. The name, however, could use some work. My brother and I decided that we didn't want to tell people that they were called "cow pies" thus draw up such an image in their heads. Instead, we called them "Bonzai". Much more appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I have made these with craisins, dried blueberries and chopped dried cherries. Have never been disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BABY
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I absolutely love these. They were so simple to make. I didn't have any raisins though so I doubled up on the nuts ( which by the way I used Honey Roasted Peanuts). That's all I had handy... but ya know they came out great. They tasted awesome!!!! I would defnitely make these again and again!!!! A+ to the person that submitted this recipe :[]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Photo by Hanna
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Pretty delicious. I'm not sure if the shortening is that much needed other than making it shiny-er though. I do agree with the fact that it melts a little too quickly (probably due to the shortening). Make sure you use good quality chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana Bessie’s Whoopie Pies

The secret is in the fluffy, creamy filling.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

Pumpkin cookies sandwiched with creamy and sweet filling.

Gingerbread Whoopie Pies

This holiday take on the traditional treat will make you say "whoopie!"

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States