Cousin David's Slow Cooker Brisket Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I'd never even heard of chili sauce until I tried this recipe. It really works for this dish. It's not smoky Texas BBQ, but it is really delicious. My family was highly dubious, but the taste and smell completely won them over. And it's among the easiest recipes you'll ever find on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Fitzgerald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
The best ever! We just finished dinner and we had to say thank you! My 16 year old said it was the best thing she'd ever eaten. I just served it on toasted whole grain rolls with coleslaw on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
The chili sauce is way too overpowering--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GNFSHN4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Made this last night for family who have never had braised brisket before. It was such a hit there was barely any conversation as they were eating. I added 2 sliced sweet onions, and 2 cloves of chopped garlic to the crockpot first and then placed the meat on top. I let it go on low for 9 hours and the meat was fork tender. I served with roast red potatoes and broccoli. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I tried this but added a quartered whole Spanish onion, baby mini carrots, sliced mushrooms and instead of the 2 12 ounce bottles of chili sauce, I used Bulls Eye smoked bar-b-que sauce instead. WOW---what flavor. There was only 2 of us with the 3 lb brisket but--we FINISHED the entire thing in one meal. It WAS that good!! I was hoping for 2 meals out of it but we devoured the entire thing at dinner. The smoked bar-b-que sauce gave it a whole new twist. I made it both ways, original recipe once and now with the smoked bar-b-que sauce. From now on, only the smoked bar-b-que way!!! You must try this way once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
ThIs was my first brisket ever and it came out great. I doubled the onion soup mix since that's a family favorite. The meat was tender and tasty and everyone loved it. I WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Delicious brisket, my wife and i thoroughly enjoyed.From a short time after it started cooking the smell was amazing. I did not alter recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I made this exactly as written and it literally feel apart after 8 hours on low - yum! The taste was perfect but didn't use the sauce it cooked in to eat, I just used bbq sauce. Made with mashed potatoes and brussel sprouts - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Would not make again. This sauce just was not what we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foody
Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I've made this twice and it makes a wonderful barbecued brisket. I found the sauce too overwhelming to put over noodles, so I served it with baked potatoes and corn. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States