Cousin Cosmo's Greek Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
This dish is really delicious. I followed the recipie exactly and it turned out perfectly. I served it on a bed of angle hair pasta. In addition to tasting great, the combination of the chicken, tomatoes and spinach present beautifully on a plate. I am planning on serving this at my next dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Preparation time was a little longer than 20 minutes, but was well worth it. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Very easy, very quick, very delicious! And like another reviewer said, looks stunning on the plate. I added more spinach because I had a pile of it and we all love it; I served it with pilaf and a crisp fennel salad, and it was a great meal. The only thing I think detracts from the dish is the bouillon cube. It made the sauce taste a little fake on my palate. I'd say skip the cube and use chicken broth instead of water. Next time I think I'll also add a lemon juice to the cooking sauce because the flavours would be very complementary. UPDATE: Since I reviewed this recipe, I adapted it to serve at a café where I served as head chef for a time, and it was an absolute HIT! Other than the changes above, I stopped using flour altogether (I don't think a light sauce is a sin; besides which there's no runny sauce that can't be mopped up with something yummy), used cherry tomatoes instead of diced ones, and most importantly, added baby spinach leaves in the last two minutes of cooking, just so they wilt and are still bright green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This was really tasty. I added onion and garlic to the sauce. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
We found this to be a very tasty dish. I think that 1-1/2 c. of water with only one Tbs. of flour for thickening makes for a very "soupy" sauce. I am going to make this again but will experiment with either less water or more thickener such as corn starch. My husband and I both agreed that if the sauce would be thicker it would be a wonderful topper for cooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This was very tasty. The sauce was a little too soupy so next time, I'll either add more flour or less water. I also might try chicken broth instead of water. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
OK, but probably wouldn't make this again. If I did, I would add the spinach at the last minute, not before the simmering. I used real broth, not boullion. I also would make a pocket in the chicken, not fold it over. Maybe serve it over orzo. It is very saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Mmmm this was so good. I doubled the vegetables in the recipe, used chicken broth instead of a boullion cube and water, added sauted red onion and garlic and added a bit more flour to thicken the sauce. I served this with bulgar wheat. Very tasty.. was even better as leftovers. I will be making this again. It was very fast, once you got past the pounding of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I was skeptic about the feta cheese in chicken but was pleasantly surprised. Next time I will use more spinach and tomatos and the sauce does need to be thickened a little more with flour or cornstarch. Recommend serving over Angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
To make a thicker sauce, I removed the chicken and added the flour to the leftover juices and oil and made a thin paste. Then cooked the flour for about 2-3 minutes but careful not to let it burn. Added chicken broth gradually, thoroughly mixing each time. Then I proceeded with the recipe, and it thickens as it boils. Tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Greek Penne and Chicken

See how to make Greek chicken with feta cheese and artichokes.

Greek Chicken Kozani

See how to make a savory Greek-inspired chicken dish with prunes and paprika.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States