Couscous with Mushrooms and Sun-Dried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This recipe is excellent. Instead of the dehydrated sundried tomatoes, I used the ones sitting in olive oil at the antipasto section. They were way better. I still soaked them in the water, and the added oil added a ton of flavour, while keeping the tomatoes very soft. And the recipe says to use half a box of couscous, which can be confusing. I buy my couscous from the bulk food store (its WAY cheaper), so I used a ratio of 2 parts liquid to 1 part couscous, i.e. used 3/4 a cup of couscous with the 1 1/2 cups of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I really enjoyed this flavorful and easy way to prepare couscous. I only had button mushrooms on hand and used leek instead of green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
There's not enough liquid when sauteing the sun-dried tomatoes and garlic. Keep lemon juice to a minimum but add extra water from time to time, just to keep veggies moist; it will evaporate. Otherwise, a tasty and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made mine with vegitable stock, mushrooms, 4 green onions,celery, broccoli, plum tomatoes and added asparagus as a side yummmm great advice guys this recipe was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingforseven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was good, but it's a bit heavy on the sun-dried tomato. Combined with the lemon juice, it gave the dish a very strong tangy taste. Next time, I'll cut the tomatoes to 1/2 cup and increase the mushrooms. I prepared it just a bit differently: I sauteed the mushrooms first to give them time to sweat, and then I added the rest of the veggies and garlic. Plus, I added the herbs when I mixed the veggies into the couscous, rather than cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I was worried that all of the strongly flavored ingredients would clash but it was a very tasty dish...even my 90+ year old grandparents liked it, it was flavorful but not too exotic. I used shitake mushrooms instead of portabello and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
i took this to my best friends bbq yesterday,those that tried it loved it! i used low cal spray instead of oil, i didn't have fresh basil or cilantro,i used dried. i also used button mushrooms. i will definately make again.thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was pretty tasty and easy. I made a few alterations. I used button mushrooms instead of portobello because I didn't have any on hand, I added extra water to the pan while I was cooking the vegetables, and I threw in a few dashes of crushed red pepper instead of the cilantro. Very tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I loved this recipe! I wasn't sure about the "1 bunch" of green onions, so I just used 4 whole green onions. Also, I used already-moistened (but not marinated) sun-dried tomatoes, so I cooked my couscous in vegetable stock. *yum yum* :-) (I don't know what the other review meant about not having enough liquid for the vegetables, but nothing extra was needed for me. Cook over medium heat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Highland Village, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Unfortunately we thought this was just okay. I won't be making it again. I followed the recipe all the way, minus using the tomato water for the couscous. To substitute I added thick tomato puree and a little bit of chicken broth to get the flavor back in there. The tomatoes were very overpowering - I would recommend putting them in a food processor to get them into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lund, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage Gnocchi with Sun-Dried Tomatoes

See how to make easy gnocchi with savory smoked sausage.

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States