Couscous with Mushrooms and Sun-Dried Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This recipe is excellent. Instead of the dehydrated sundried tomatoes, I used the ones sitting in olive oil at the antipasto section. They were way better. I still soaked them in the water, and the added oil added a ton of flavour, while keeping the tomatoes very soft. And the recipe says to use half a box of couscous, which can be confusing. I buy my couscous from the bulk food store (its WAY cheaper), so I used a ratio of 2 parts liquid to 1 part couscous, i.e. used 3/4 a cup of couscous with the 1 1/2 cups of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I really enjoyed this flavorful and easy way to prepare couscous. I only had button mushrooms on hand and used leek instead of green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
There's not enough liquid when sauteing the sun-dried tomatoes and garlic. Keep lemon juice to a minimum but add extra water from time to time, just to keep veggies moist; it will evaporate. Otherwise, a tasty and healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made mine with vegitable stock, mushrooms, 4 green onions,celery, broccoli, plum tomatoes and added asparagus as a side yummmm great advice guys this recipe was awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingforseven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This was good, but it's a bit heavy on the sun-dried tomato. Combined with the lemon juice, it gave the dish a very strong tangy taste. Next time, I'll cut the tomatoes to 1/2 cup and increase the mushrooms. I prepared it just a bit differently: I sauteed the mushrooms first to give them time to sweat, and then I added the rest of the veggies and garlic. Plus, I added the herbs when I mixed the veggies into the couscous, rather than cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I was worried that all of the strongly flavored ingredients would clash but it was a very tasty dish...even my 90+ year old grandparents liked it, it was flavorful but not too exotic. I used shitake mushrooms instead of portabello and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
i took this to my best friends bbq yesterday,those that tried it loved it! i used low cal spray instead of oil, i didn't have fresh basil or cilantro,i used dried. i also used button mushrooms. i will definately make again.thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This was pretty tasty and easy. I made a few alterations. I used button mushrooms instead of portobello because I didn't have any on hand, I added extra water to the pan while I was cooking the vegetables, and I threw in a few dashes of crushed red pepper instead of the cilantro. Very tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I loved this recipe! I wasn't sure about the "1 bunch" of green onions, so I just used 4 whole green onions. Also, I used already-moistened (but not marinated) sun-dried tomatoes, so I cooked my couscous in vegetable stock. *yum yum* :-) (I don't know what the other review meant about not having enough liquid for the vegetables, but nothing extra was needed for me. Cook over medium heat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Highland Village, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Unfortunately we thought this was just okay. I won't be making it again. I followed the recipe all the way, minus using the tomato water for the couscous. To substitute I added thick tomato puree and a little bit of chicken broth to get the flavor back in there. The tomatoes were very overpowering - I would recommend putting them in a food processor to get them into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lund, Skane, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Short Ribs Braised with Mushrooms & Tomatoes

Beef short ribs are braised with porcini mushrooms and tomatoes.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States