Couscous with Dried Cherries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
This is a tasty but bland dish which I also jazzed up with about 2 TB curry powder. In addition, I used Frieda's dried bing cherries, quartered, and had to add more liquid because it was dry. Oh, and I added toasted pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Like others, I loved the cherries and other dried fruit (I included apricot). Still, the couscous was lacking. I'd make this again, but I would include curry, allspice, etc. to make the grains flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
This is great. I really like fruit in my couscous and rice. It was very easy to make. I suppose it could have used some more spices. Only two problems, and they're probably due to operator difficulties: the cherries were a little hard and the couscous dry. So next time I will stew the cherries a little first, and use more liquid. I hope this works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
"Different"....however, I was the only family member who would even eat more than one mouthful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2003
i thought this recipe was enjoyable. maybe could have used a few more spices. i sauteed some garlic in with the butter before adding the broth and other ingredients to give it a little kick. and i used apricots instead of cherries. tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This is very good, but I think our family prefers curry flavored couscous. Thanks for a different variety idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
I used dried crannberries since I had them sitting around. Not a bad dish, but it wasn't one worth raving about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This recipe was great! What a great combination of flavors. I used dried raisins that were cherry flavored, like craisins, and it turned out perfect! Most importantly, it was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This was very easy. I substituted a product called Fruit Bits for the dried cherries, and we enjoyed it. Definitely quick, definitely easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
Unless I really messed this recipe up, I thought it tasted like really good cranberry muffins, but not as sweet. Pleasent as part of a well planned menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States