Couscous with Chickpeas and Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Not bad. The chickpeas were still pretty firm, and it didn't seem like the carrots warmed up very much. Instead of microwaving the broth, i boiled it in a small sauce pan, so I know that it was plenty hot. Other than that, it didn't seem to have much flavor. I may make this again and try to come up with a way to tweak it, but I'm on the neutral fence about it right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
If you want to kick this recipe up two notches, toss in sliced raisins and dried apricots with the carrots/couscous/chick peas. I'll probably add dates next time. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladee
Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
After making it, I wasn't all that pleased, but I still like the general idea of the recipe. It was very quick and easy to make and it's easy to add other vegetables that you might have on hand. I actually made a couple of changes (used vegetable broth and added half a chopped green pepper and a diced medium tomato). The tomato added a significant amount of moisture, but it was still really dry in the end. Making this again, I would probably use less couscous and more vegetables. I agree with another reviewer that the parsley should probably not be optional and adding some other herbs and/or spices could give it a boost. I had a lot left over (because it wasn't so well-received) and I ate some the next day, reheated with some leftover tomato soup drizzled over the top. This added moisture and some flavor and was actually pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Awesome! I used 1 cup dried coucous because I didn't have a package. Also added about 1 to 2 tsp of onion soup mix at the end while it was sitting. I loved it! Really fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Easy, quick and simple, yet flavourful and filling. I used veggie broth and omitted the parsley, and doubled the garlic and onions out of personal preference. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I am giving this four stars only because I added some spices not mentioned in the original recipe. This was my first time making couscous and I followed the directions exactly. Except that I grew a little concerned over the absence of any spices, so I added some I had at hand along with the chickpeas: 1/2 tbs ground cumin and 1/4 heaped tbs of each ground turmeric and ground coriander, along with a healthy dash of cayenne pepper. This came out fabulous and made for a healthy vegetarian lunch all by itself (I used vegetable broth instead of chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was a really yummy side salad when served with grilled steak. I did not make any changes to the recipe, and found it very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was not a huge hit in our house. It was dry and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I liked this recipe, but I thought it was a little too sweet. Next time, I'll add celery and zucchini to the carrots to downplay their sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States