Couscous with a Kick! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Holy tingling tastebuds, this is crazy good! Instead of the customary potato/macaroni salad, I opted to make this as a side dish for bbq ribs. Left out the cilantro as I'm not a fan of its (soaplike) taste, but just chopped enough flat-leaf parsley to compensate. The real surprise, though, is the fresh jalapeno, especially when combined with the fiery cayenne and the smoky cumin. It's a trifecta of explosive flavor while the cuke, mint and lemon provide the cooling effects. This is now my go-to summer salad ~ thanks vburrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by V
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is my recipe. I recently tried this with quinoa & it was great (maybe even better than with couscous!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I love spicy foods and this is a cool salad with a kick from the jalapenos! I added olive oil to the mix at the very end, liked how that rounded out the flavors and bound everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pianoducky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Amazing! The only thing that I changed was the amount of cayenne pepper, I like it a little less spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barry's Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This was very good, with just the right amount of spice, although I felt maybe it lacked something, like salt, next time I might cook the couscous with chicken broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made this recipe just as specified, and it was delicious! I love spicy food, and I didn't find the kick to take away from the flavor at all. It was perfect, and I'll make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUGABRIELLE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
boy! is this hott!!!(spicy) I only used half the cayenne and it still was terribly hot, so hot that you could not really appreciate the rest of the wonderful herbs. Next time I will skip the cayenne, use more cilantro and mint anduse the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is a fabulous salad. Very flavorful and it keeps well in the fridge. I generally prepare a warm couscous with roasted chicken for dinner and then prepare this tasty salad the next day for lunches and snacks. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
i loved my first attempt at couscous. i halved the water and couscous to make for a very green couscous salad, and omitted the feta. served alongside broiled fish marinated in the extra lemon juice and garlic, and a classic gazpacho - perfect summery meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Doubled all the herbs/spices... and used 4 lemon's juices....great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States