Couscous with a Kick! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Tastes just as great without the parsley. You can also add as much lemon as you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vburrito

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Morristown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This is a fabulous salad. Very flavorful and it keeps well in the fridge. I generally prepare a warm couscous with roasted chicken for dinner and then prepare this tasty salad the next day for lunches and snacks. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEVA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
i loved my first attempt at couscous. i halved the water and couscous to make for a very green couscous salad, and omitted the feta. served alongside broiled fish marinated in the extra lemon juice and garlic, and a classic gazpacho - perfect summery meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Holy tingling tastebuds, this is crazy good! Instead of the customary potato/macaroni salad, I opted to make this as a side dish for bbq ribs. Left out the cilantro as I'm not a fan of its (soaplike) taste, but just chopped enough flat-leaf parsley to compensate. The real surprise, though, is the fresh jalapeno, especially when combined with the fiery cayenne and the smoky cumin. It's a trifecta of explosive flavor while the cuke, mint and lemon provide the cooling effects. This is now my go-to summer salad ~ thanks vburrito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
boy! is this hott!!!(spicy) I only used half the cayenne and it still was terribly hot, so hot that you could not really appreciate the rest of the wonderful herbs. Next time I will skip the cayenne, use more cilantro and mint anduse the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Amazing! The only thing that I changed was the amount of cayenne pepper, I like it a little less spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barry's Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I love spicy foods and this is a cool salad with a kick from the jalapenos! I added olive oil to the mix at the very end, liked how that rounded out the flavors and bound everything together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pianoducky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Use a little more water, otherwise the couscous will be on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Enjoyed this, but quite spicy! Might cut back on the cayenne pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violinstringer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Doubled all the herbs/spices... and used 4 lemon's juices....great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Couscous with a Kick!

This irresistible side dish is great at barbeques and potlucks.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States