Couscous Royale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I made the recipe according to the directions. It is very good! My grocery store doesn't carry harissa, so I made some using a recipe I found on the internet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTON SCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
We found this recipe very good. We did not add the harissa and it was spicy enough. We used boneless chicken breasts. To cut down on cooking time, we boiled the chicken and sausages first, cut the meat into bite size pieces and added it directly to the stew to finish cooking. Overall, very tasty and easy to prepare. I would like to mention that in all we had over eight servings, if not more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
REALLY good. A friend gave me a package of Merguez sausage. Substituted thai chile paste (just a smidge) for the harissa. Didn't bother with the chicken; the sausage and chick peas were enough protein; the plain yogurt really gives it the one-two punch for an exquisite combo of flavors and texture. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This was GREAT! I did not even have all the ingredients, especially the spices, yet it turned out awesome! My husband loved it as well and told me to 'save this recipe'. :) Even if you don't have all the ingredients it will certainly turn out fine. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Great dish! So tasty! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I have never cooked any middle eastern dish before and this one turned out amazing. I followed the recipe exactly except I could not find the harissa paste but this lady at a ethnic grocery told me the hot curry chile paste would work. You can find it in the international food section in a major grocery like walmart. It add plenty of spice and the flavor was mind blowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aislinnkay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
this was fantastic! i didn't have harissa on hand, so i used tabasco (1 tsp) and red chili flakes (1 tsp) instead, and the taste was FABULOUS! i wanted it spicy and it was just perfect. My experience with couscous grain has never been as conclusive as simply pouring boiling hot water (with integrated chicken stock powder, olive oil and salt) over equal amount of couscous grain in a metal bowl. Cover with a tight-fitting lid and let cook on its own - away from stovetop - for up to 10-12 minutes. Uncover and fluff it with fork, so grains are well separated. if need be, add a bit more olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunham, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
my husband and I both loved this! I used ground Italian sausage and, since I didn't have harissa, used 2 tablespoons of adzhika instead. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great recipe to use a rutabaga. A tasty stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I made this with the rutabaga and no meat. It tastes AMAZING and I'll definately make it again. I added some milk to it, until it was a light orange and it made it soo much better. Thanks for the recipe :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States