Couscous and Cucumber Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I used the advice of others and added less lemon juice, and I also added some fat-free plain yogurt and chopped mint for a more mediterranean flavor... the couscous soaked up the liquids well and it was tasty for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
It was alright, nothing special, was a bit dry eventhough I increased the liquid ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This is a pretty good basis but not exactly the Lebanese flavor I was expecting. I'd reduce the lemon juice and add some more spices next time. Dill maybe? I still enjoyed it nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
We really liked this side dish. It's light, easy to prepare and has great flavor. Great side dish for the summer! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I scaled this to 2 servings to go with chicken kabobs. These are VERY generous servings. I made the dressing cutting back the lemon per previous reviews, added approx twice the green onion into the dressing so the lemon and salt could mellow them a little and using minimum salt. Made the couscous adding the rest of the lemon juice to the cooking water and since I had no fresh herbs I added dry to the cooking water. As soon as the couscous was cooked I poured on the dressing and stirred it in well, set aside to cool. Used an English cucumber, diced about 1/2" dice. When the couscous was cool, I added the cucumber and returned to the refrigerator for about 2-3 hours. I did need to add salt & pepper on the plate but by not adding the full amount in the dressing hoped to not end up with a watery salad and so far it's worked. Now I plan to add tomato and black olives and a bit of balsamic dressing to serve with sirloin kabobs or steak. All in all a very good recipe with endless possibilities. Very refreshing. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
My new absolute favorite! The seasonings and lemon are perfect together, and the cucumber was just made for it. Could easily add tomatoes, bell peppers, or other crunchy-type veggies but it's perfect just as-is. I'd give it more than five stars if I could. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
This is honestly the first time I've been disappointed in an allrecipes.com recipe. It was bland, the texture was mushy, and I don't think I can ever eat a cucumber again; it more or less was eating straight cucumbers with couscous. The recipe went straight in the trash. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMULLARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
What a fresh taste! I was worried as I didn't wait the hour for the mixture to blend as my time was short and I was hungry. I was expecting it to be bland (after reading other reviews). Instead, it went BANG when it tasted it. My first impression was lemon, then I tasted the basil and parsley. I can't wait to finish it. I halved the recipe and used half a vegetable boullion cube to season the couscous. I used dried basil as I didn't have any fresh. I used a tiny piece of red spanish onion as I don't like a strong onion taste and didn't have any green. The red onion added some colour to the predominantly green salad. Other than that, I kept to the recipe. What a great way to use up cucumber. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
I don't know what happened but this was inedible despite the fact that I love couscous and cucumbers! Even my husband who loves lots of lemon couldn't eat this - it just didn't work for us. Sorry : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2004
I found this recipe on allrecipes a couple of years ago and it's been in heavy rotation in my kitchen ever since. It's a nice summer salad and great for potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States