Couscous a la Me! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Our family of five all liked it! (Kids 10, 2.5 and 1.5). We did have to add spices, and agree that it could use salsa or something as well for added flavor. But overall a great recipe, i love ones using stuff i always have on hand. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
It turned out very well with a few changes. For the meat I used several cloves of pressed garlic instead of the powder. I omitted the peppers & added diced roasted tomato to the chicken instead of the couscous. For flavor I definitely added the cumin, then salt, pepper, oregano, chili powder, a splash of white wine, & Italian seasonings (Mc Cormick in a grinder). To the couscous I seasoned the water, (next time I will use homemade chicken broth), with salt & Italian seasonings. After it was done I added CA Olive Ranch olive oil, (otherwise a bit dry & added some great flavor), & some Kerry Gold butter (this stuff is amazing, from grass fed cows), more Italian seasonings, splash of white wine & sliced BLACK OLIVES!! Oh my I think the black olives made the meal! But I love black olives :) I also used kidney beans because I had it on hand. I think next time I will add some chopped green onion as well. I just topped the couscous with the meat mixture instead of mixing it all together. I think it turned out wonderful! My husband loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by szaboa80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
AMAZING... i have never cooked cous cous so i was having doubts about how this dish would turn out but to my surprise, it was delicious. i strongly suggest adding grated cheese and hot sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
A favorite in our house. I use one can of Rotel to add a little spice and serve it over pearled/Israeli cous cous. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Blah! So bland... And I like healthy eating but this had nothing to offer. Tried to save this by adding cumin and lime but it couldn't be rescued. Unfortunate as I made enough to freeze for a second meal and it will probably never get eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Very good & healthy. Perfect during these pregnancy days (without the wine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseau, Saint George Parish, Dominica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I had never tried or cooked with couscous before, and I wanted to try it out. Delicious recipe!! I will definitely make this recipe again, and couscous is going to be the new staple grain at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Overall not a bad dish. Added more seasoning as suggested by others, still found that it could use something else. Next time maybe a little bit of salsa. Not a fan of canned tomatoes so I used fresh grape tomatoes, worked out nicely. I also added some zucchini, although I think corn would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is a great recipe if your pressed for time on dinner. It has all of you dinner, meat, veg, and side combined into one. I used plain couscous and it turned out great! I will definatly be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Super easy and delicious :) I took the advice from other reviewers to add cumin and chili powder. I also added corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Chicken a la King I

It's good to be the king! This easy, creamy chicken dish is ready in no time.

Shrimp and Vegetable Couscous

See how to make healthy, flavorful shrimp and veggie couscous.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States