Courtney's Three Tomato Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
Wow, this was great, but I did make the following changes. I made a pound of penne, I used only sweet italian sausage (though I think it would be great with the combo too). I used an entire onion. The sun-dried tomatoes that I used said packed with olive oil and HERBS as well as my diced canned tomatoes so I did not need to add any additional italian herbs. I drained most of the liquid out of the tomatoes (recipes doesn't indicate either way) and I skipped the cherry tomatoes. Because I skipped the cherry tomatoes I cut back a bit on the cream so the sauce wouldn't be too thin. I think next time I will simmer the sauce a little longer before adding the cream because my husband felt the sun-dried tomatoes were still a little firm. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I love this recipe! I made it again tonight and my guests gave it a 10/10. I used mild Italian sausage and added cajun seasoning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Wallace Clan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This was absolutely delicious - my husband loved it too. Next time I'll use 2/3 or half as much sausage. I also mixed in the cherry tomatoes while the pan was still simmering so they could soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is a nice change from a regular spaghetti sauce. I did make one change. I skipped the meat and then added a chopped green pepper along with the onion and garlic. Turned out wonderful. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Loved it! I doubled the onion, garlic, diced tomatoes and cream (used 1/2 and 1/2 and added some cornstarch) and made a pound of pasta. My daughter ate it for four meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tizzylizz
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was really good. I ended up using a 1lb. of Italian Ground Turkey which I had on hand. Half & Half instead of cream. No additional italian seasonings. With these changes it still came out very good & I would imagine if the recipe was followed as written, it would even be better! So easy to put together too for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This was excellent - as a healthier option I used Turkey Sausage and Sour Cream to replace the cream. Once the sauce was finished we added the penne pasta directly to the sauce and served. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Needed a way to use our overabundance of cherry tomatoes and I was also looking for a go to pasta sauce recipe. This recipe was perfect, much better than the one I used last year! Anyway, I made it as is the first time around to please my meat-eating husband, but the 2nd time I made a vegan version. I have to say both ways were great. To the vegan version, I added celery and carrots to saute along with the onions and garlic. Thank you Wallace Clan for posting this versital recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
My test is usually "if this had been served to me in a restaurant would I be impressed?". Absolutely, without a doubt, yes! We found it made eight servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
My family loved it. I will never purchase sauce in a jar again. Absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Tomato-Cream Sauce for Pasta

See how to make a quick, creamy, rave-worthy tomato sauce.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States