County Fair Elephant Ears Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I have been making this recipe for years and except for refrigerating the dough after step #4 and again after step #5 (makes it much easier to handle) and using parchment, make them as written and they're absolutely delicious. I don't know or care whether or not they're "county fair", but they're pretty close to those made by the small local bakery of my childhood. My family loves them. And skipping any of the ingredients makes this a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Not a bad recipe but tasted like shortbread cookies. Not at all county fair elephant ears that I have had. I'm not sure if they would even work fried because they just don't have the right taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haynay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Taste: Delicious. Mess in kitchen: substantial. So basically what you're doing is making cinnamon rolls, but instead of leaving them as rolls, you smash each roll into a large flat circle, sprinkle with cinnamon sugar, and bake like a cookie. A few notes about the recipe: 1. When it says a "lightly floured surface" - read that to mean dump at least 1/2 cup of flour on there, because this dough is so sticky. I had to knead a lot more flour into it to make it work at all. 2. I found it easier to just smash the rolls into circles with my hands rather than using a rolling pin (and faster too). 3. MOST IMPORTANT OF ALL.....The whole bit about ungreased cookie sheets - DON'T do it. Use parchment paper. Seriously. I could barely chisel some of these off and one of my cookie sheets will never be the same. 4. Mine were done in 10 minutes. Altogether, a very tasty treat that my children are already begging for me to bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I made these for my oldest son and he loved them. How wonderful not to have to wait until fair time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORLA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
it's just what i was looking for but didn't have time to refridgerate for 2 hours, following another review, i left out the yeast, egg and water, and used buttermilk in place of scolded milk, and reduced baking time down to 5 minutes as mine were rolled very thin. will definatly make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
My daughters 5 and 6 helped me make these for out youth group. They were easy to make, and all of the kids love them. Thanks, will make again, have to the kids are asking for them already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
I'm not sure what county fair this is from, but this rolled variety is not what's served at midwestern county fairs. Our elephant ears are plate-sized deep-fried lumps of dough sprinkled with cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I have made this recipe several times. It's better than a danish pastry. Light and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
I skip the egg, yeast, and walnuts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Elephant Ears

Watch how to make Elephant Ears, a fair food favorite.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States