Country-Style Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2015
This looked so good! Made it tonight for five of us. Found the meat to be very bland & mushy. The gravy was also bland but I added spices and that turned out good. Do needed to double gravy. Will not make this again! Out of the five of us only two ate it. Too Mushy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franceen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Excellent recipe. substituted gluten free baking mix for the flour and doubled the gravy (broth and GF flour). Filling this recipe under Comfort Foods and looking forward to cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
excellent with mashed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Very good, but it certainly does not need two hours in the oven. One hour would have been plenty. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This one will be a keeper. Browning for 5 minutes each side using a cast iron skillet was a wee bit too long. Baked in the oven for 1 hour and it was fork-tender. What's important is that hubby loved it and that's all that matters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Omg! Made this recipe, very easy and delicious! Family loved it, meat so tender I cut it with a fork. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Alvarez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
The texture was like mush. I suspect cube steak is the culprit, my HEB uses a mechanical tenderizer on cube steak. Perhaps round steak would be better. Also the temp is not correct for tenderizing tough cuts of meat. Low and slow is much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Slice an onion and lay it on the bottom of the baking dish. Place the steak on top. Use minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Double the gravy by increasing the broth to a 32 oz. box of beef broth with 5 Tbsp. of the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIZAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I cooked this for dinner tonight and was happily surprised. I followed others advise doubling gravy ingredients and adding fresh garlic and onions and glad I did. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
this recipe right here is a absolute must to keep in your rotation especially in the cooler seasons it a great comfort food and relatively inexpensive. I gave it 5 stars even though I added minor additions but as is I'm sure it would of came out just as divine. I reduce the seasonings for flour dredging because I wanted to add a little onion soup seasoning to the broth and flour mixture and that really gave the gravy flavoring some depth. The meat was very tender yet still moist of course you want to double the sauce to have a enough to drizzle generously over meat and your side (pair with mash potatoes) I also added some fresh sliced mushroom to the gravy. yummy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States