Country-Style Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
My mother used to make this for me for my "birthday dinner", I've never been able to re-create it and she's since passed. I made this recipe this past Sunday and it was just like hers!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!! I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Could just be personal preference but no one was crazy about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This recipe is easy and delicious! As others have stated, I used 3 cups of broth to have more gravy. Added sliced onion to the bottom of the pan and on occasion add sliced mushrooms. Easily one of my favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this with venison steak & venison chops that had to get eaten up and it was absolutely fantastic! I added sautéed onions and mushrooms because we love them and thought it would be a great addition! I was hesitant about the amount of time in the oven but it was perfect! I couldn't believe how tender it was and the flavor was to die for! My boyfriend took one bite and he said "Omg, don't lose this recipe"! LOL Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bling

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Suamico, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was the best Country-Style Steak recipe I have ever tasted. I have always called this type of steak Smothered Steak. This will be added to my weekly menus from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia Flynn
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This is definitely a keeper. My husband was surprised how tender the steaks were. The only thing will do differently next time is to make extra gravy and heat up right before serving, and probably less cook time; but that part is due to my oven. The house smelled so good as it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made this for my parents last week and they absolutely loved it! I would double the gravy though it doesn't make very much. Also instead of seasoned salt I used creole seasoning and a bit of Cajun seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was a little bland to me. I had to add some other ingredients to give it flavor. Once I did it was pretty good. I base the rating on the actual recipe without alterations. Good base though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Great recipe! We have a cafeteria in town that makes country style steak to die for; this tops it by far! Am throwing out my other recipe putting this in my "special" book of to-die-for recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I loved the recipe with a couple of my own additions (nothing revolutionary). Some mushrooms sauted in the oil after removing the steaks and added a little fish sauce to the flour/beef broth, not so you can taste it, but for depth, about 1 Tbsp. The gravy was really thick when I took it out of the oven, so I added water to it, so I could use it on the potatoes. The next time I do it, I will cut down on the amount of flour or add more broth. Obviously I would not have been able to improve to my taste, without this great recipe. Thanks, ddt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States