Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Great recipe, but I found a few tips missing: - the shortening has to be genuinely hot before you add the potatos; if it is too cold, the potatos will soak it up and won't close their pores - Don't go over medium heat as the potatos will burn quickly on one side and stay raw on the other (if you do not use cooked potatos) - After having added the potatos, let them sizzle a few minutes (2-3) on one side. If you stir too quickly, they won't caramelize and get crispy. They will still be wonderful, but they won't have that extra touch. Otherwise I found that adding slices of carrots can be a wonderful change, and also spicing the potatos with curry powder or paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wuppertal, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Very good basic fried potatoes. I'm not very patient so after cubing the potatoes, I cooked them in the microwave for about 7 min, which didn't cook them but certainly sped up the frypan part. Also, I subbed veg oil for the shortening (and less of it). Honestly, they're a little plain as is BUT served as a side to a hot plate of scrambled eggs (and a little melted butter over them), they were tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
These were really good. I made a big breakfast this morning and added these potatoes to our menu. Instead of using regular potatoes, I used some frozen hashbrowns I have had in my freezer for ages. I sauteed them in some butter and olive oil rather than shortening. I wish I would have sauteed some onions and bell peppers to go along with these, but didn't think of that until the potatoes were almost done. Of course I added a little dash of onion powder along with the garlic and gave it a hefty dose of freshly ground black pepper. Thanks for sharing. Hey "D"...these are right up your alley!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These are terrific! My family devoured the entire pan tonight at dinner. The only changes I made were bacon fat instead of shortening, and I added 1/2 tsp. onion powder to the spice mix. Really fantastic flavor, color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Delicious! I cut the recipe in half and partially microwaved the potatoes to cut down on cooking time. I also used butter instead of shortening, added some onions, and used minced garlic vs. garlic powder. This is a great accompaniment to scrambled eggs, bacon, and toast - just like our favorite diner does it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I've been making these for years! The only difference is I use the leftover potato from when I make potato skins. After I scoop the potato out of the skins, I break it up slightly and refrigerate overnight. Then the next morning I use them to make fried potatoes. I prefer margarine instead of shortening to brown them and also add a little bit of parsley, oregano, and rosemary. It's a great way to use up the leftover potato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
These basic fried potatoes were made great by frying them on 1/4 cup garlic flavored olive oil and adding minced green onion and my own fried bacon bits.Serve with a dollop of sour cream for an extra kick. Thanks Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
It's entirely possible to use just veggie oil to cook these. After years working for burger joint that hand-cut all their potatoes, a secret I learned is to thoroughly wash, drain and pat dry the potatoes before frying. This washes out the starch and gluten that make potatoes mushy. Do this and you can cook them in any fat you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I made this for Christmas morning and they were awesome. I have tried for a long time to make breakfast potatoes but they always came out mushy. Using the shortening did the trick. They came out crisp and delicious. I did add some sliced onions and red/green bell peppers. Even though they weren't as healthy as if I used vegetable oil, the shortening did the trick. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Great potato recipe. I will serve with breakfast occationally, but usually serve with dinner. Adjust the seasoning to taste. Also, I sliced rather than cubed my potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States