Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My husband thought they were absolutely fabulous! Using olive oil is a great shortening substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Awesome method for cooking breakfast potatoes! It's New Year's Day and we felt like a heavy greasy yummy breakfast to soak up the party from last night! I made these eggs and they were SO GOOD! I added an onion & red bell pepper and microwaved the potatoes for a few minutes before cooking to speed up the process. Used butter and oil to fry it (started with pepper and onions till soft then added potatoes and seasonings). They were so good, my husband pronounced them better than a restaurant. I will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Great recipe, I added some of the spices before the potatoes went into the skillet in addition to adding them afterwards as the recipe suggests. I thought it was a little too oily, and I will use less next time I prepare this. Play with it to suit your taste in my advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellemadame16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Woodmere, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
added sauted onions and used evoo. end result was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonnim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
YUM!! I used olive oil instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Used olive oil instead and skipped the paprika...microwaved potatoes also to speed up cook time! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I had never made this before and this was a very easy-to-follow recipe. A cast-iron skillet is a must with these. Will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandiebb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were great, followed the advice of another reader and used bacon fat instead of shortening. Turned out great! Next time going to try adding some onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I loved these potatoes they were so fast and easy. I used olive oil and butter because I prefer to try to keep things as healthy as possible, but I didn't change anything else. I loved the taste and love that this dish could go great as a side with a dinner entre or some eggs and bacon if you have leftovers the next day. I will definately save this recipe for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This recipe was excellent - crispy outside, creamy inside. I substituted butter for shortening since I never have any but they still came out great. Will definitely use this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States