Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Pretty good. i think they were a bit greasy even though I drained them on paper towels. It tasted like there was something missing too. definetely a recipe I will keep. I just have to experiment with different spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amzaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was a really easy recipe! I followed the advice of previous reviews and microwaved the potatoes before frying them. I only gave them four stars because they were a little bland... Now I know for next time!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
These are almost exactly how I make my breakfast potatoes, except I figured it out by trial and error! I like to parboil the potatoes before frying if I have time or use leftover baked potatoes from the day before and slice or dice them up. It makes the potato softer and much quicker to fry in the pan. Instead of shortening I use 1/2 whipped butter and 1/2 vegetable oil. I also use season salt for the salt and red color. I might try the paprika next time with regular salt. Potatoes prepared this way taste just like the ones you get at the restaurants, but they are actually better because they never end up in the deep fryer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
These are great, thanks so much! My entire family loves these as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good but I probably won't make them again with the shortening. I don't usually have that on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Made these just as directed and they were Great. We will be serving these for our big family get together on Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Good basic fried potato recipe. I used butter in place of shortening and added some green onions and cheese to the top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Very simple recipe and they turned out great! The only thing I changed was to add diced onion. This really took no longer than preparing frozen potatoes and is much, much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
I just threw these on the stove with oil on medium heat. They were sticking to the pan, so after about 15 minutes, I stuck them in the oven in a pan broil and cooked them, stirring occasionally, for about 10 minutes and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Montana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Yum! My family loved these, especially my husband who has his own recipes he usually makes. I agreed with the reviewer who used bacon grease in lieu of shortening and added a little dried onion powder along with the spices at the end. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States