Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
There is nothing country about these at all. Fried potatoes need bacon grease to cook in. Salt and pepper to taste, drain on a paper towel if needed. I prefer to wash the potatoes and eave the skin on. I've lived and cooked in "the country" all my life. Fried taters need some bacon grease for taste IF you can eat such foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I usually fry my potatoes this way. But when I'm in a hurry, I slice the potatoes instead of cubing them. They cook faster and you get more crunchy pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
A couple of tips I learned from my first mother-in-law have helped me to obtain nicely browned fried potatoes ever since. We use oil instead of shortening for health reasons, and get away with that due to these techniques. The seasonings in this recipe are good, but can be changed to go with a given meal (more like chili powder, cumin, and garlic when eating southwestern styled meats (e.g. - anything with pepper jack cheese and/or meats marinated in soy and salsa, etc.). Or if using oregano, rosemary and garlic, and putting potatoes on the board instead of pasta, then I'll sprinkle a touch of garlic, and matching herbs on the T's, then sprinkle with parmesan and parsley when serving. For German-like meats, I'll sometimes toss in some vinegar, bacon crumbles, and if I have them, some sliced green onions. Here are the tips: a) cube eveningly , OF COURSE b) cover the potatoes and cook on low heat until they are cooked through, stirring occasionally c) then take off the lid and turn up the heat, and stir a *little* more often, making sure not to turn before browing occurs, but not waiting until they burn to stir them (this just takes practice and multi-tasking to keep track of while prep'ing the rest of the meal). My mom always sliced her fried potatoes after they were boiled or baked, but I can't get as consistent of a result her way 9sorry Mom, I just don't have your touch), but the above tricks always result in excellent tatoes around here!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
And if you really want to cut down time, use a can of diced potatoes - rinse well to cut down on the "canned" taste - these can be cooked over slightly higher heat also as all they need is browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
For a decadent treat, try them with butter and a strip or two of bacon. Not something you want to do all the time but the bacon really adds something. Also try adding onion powder, Onions and potatoes are a great mix.(I omitted the paprika.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Easy to make when you already have baked potatoes. I used a few tablespoons of butter instead of shortening, otherwise followed the recipe. Great at breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Delicious! I cut the recipe in half and partially microwaved the potatoes to cut down on cooking time. I also used butter instead of shortening, added some onions, and used minced garlic vs. garlic powder. This is a great accompaniment to scrambled eggs, bacon, and toast - just like our favorite diner does it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
My wife and I first tried this about a year and a half ago and now we use this at least once a week. Excellent fried tatters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scottsharp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Excellent! Everyone loved them. I had left over baked potatoes from dinner the night before so just peeled and used those. This really made preparing these quick and easy. The garlic powder and paprika is perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These were excellent. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States