Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Very, very good. And very easy. However, they did take much more than 15 minutes to brown. Expect to turn them over once in a while for about double that time. Will do again, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Great basic recipe! I always use an onion in combination with the potatoes. I don't like the garlic powder that early in the morning so I add lots of black pepper and a pinch of salt. It takes a while waiting for potatoes to brown flip and wait some more but it's worth it. My grandkids will pass up their mom's & dad's to eat mine! They are great cooks but there are some things in life grandma is just better at doing! Try it you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I made this the other night as a side for dinner! It tasted wonderful. Instead of measuring everything, I just kind of eyeballed it! Will definately cook this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
These were excellent! Followed the recipe as written EXCEPT for one change : I used bacon grease instead of shortening. Perfect! Crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. Thank you for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Just an average recipe for fried potatoes. Think it needs onions and maybe green peppers or more spice to add more flavor. Not bad but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
After making this, I wondered why I needed a recipe...fry up some potatoes, basically. I did add the rosemary, parsley, garlic and olive instead of the shortening. They were good, but nothing original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I grew up in the country, and this is very similar to how my mom always made them! Really the only difference is using left over bacon grease instead of shortening (adds that little bit of extra yummy flavor). Serve with county white gravy (peppered or sausage flavored) and it's to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Loretto, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
good, added jalapenos & onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I have never, ever, EVER been able to get fried potatoes to come out good at home before using this recipe. My uncle is even a short order cook and I still couldn't figure it out!!! Great recipe and the tip from one reviewer about making sure the oil/fat/shortening is hot before putting the potatoes in is the HOLY GRAIL of fried potatoes!!!! Thanks to all! I microwaved in a microwave steamer until almost fork tender, drained WELL, put into hot bacon fat, and added half an onion diced and a little cayenne pepper for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Used onion salt instead of regular salt. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States