Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
These were excellent! Followed the recipe as written EXCEPT for one change : I used bacon grease instead of shortening. Perfect! Crispy on the outside, soft on the inside. Thank you for sharing your recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Just an average recipe for fried potatoes. Think it needs onions and maybe green peppers or more spice to add more flavor. Not bad but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
After making this, I wondered why I needed a recipe...fry up some potatoes, basically. I did add the rosemary, parsley, garlic and olive instead of the shortening. They were good, but nothing original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I grew up in the country, and this is very similar to how my mom always made them! Really the only difference is using left over bacon grease instead of shortening (adds that little bit of extra yummy flavor). Serve with county white gravy (peppered or sausage flavored) and it's to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Loretto, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
good, added jalapenos & onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I have never, ever, EVER been able to get fried potatoes to come out good at home before using this recipe. My uncle is even a short order cook and I still couldn't figure it out!!! Great recipe and the tip from one reviewer about making sure the oil/fat/shortening is hot before putting the potatoes in is the HOLY GRAIL of fried potatoes!!!! Thanks to all! I microwaved in a microwave steamer until almost fork tender, drained WELL, put into hot bacon fat, and added half an onion diced and a little cayenne pepper for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Used onion salt instead of regular salt. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Did not have cast iron skillet but they cooked perfectly in a teflon skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
We like to use previously baked potatoes, with the skins on, for this recipe. I always bake extra and then use the baked potatoes cubed with fresh onions or with dried minced onions. The skins add a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is a tried and true fantastic recipe. I also start with very hot oil, bacon grease, or shortening depending- spice up the taters and add some onions as well. The keys to fried potatoes are uniform thinner slicing and keeping them covered until they get soft- uncover and brown them. Always make sure to use enough oil so they don't stick as well. Patience is the biggest part especially if you love these crunchy as we do. Great old school recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States