Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Really enjoyed these. Tasted just like hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Good but not all that exciting...It seemed to take longer to cook than the recipe suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Thees tasted like any fried potato to me. I only change the shortening to canola oil. The next time I fix this potatoes I add 1/2 bell pepper and 1/4 of a chopped up onion. Plus I also used 1 minced clove of garlic instead of powder and smoked paprika. My family like the fact that I add 2 other veggie to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rlt11_NMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I make these hash brown style potatoes a lot for breakfast. I use canola oil instead of shortening, and usually throw in about a cup of diced onions, sometimes I thrown in a can of sliced button mushrooms and cubes of ham to make it a sort of hash. Very versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is really a good and quick recipe. Growing up with not a lot of money and stretching the food dollar, my wonderful Mother made this using bacon grease and adding cubed day old bread. The bread became crunchy and brown with wonderful bacon flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Tasty potatoes to go with my "breakfast for dinner"meal. I halved the recipe since I was only cooking for 2. The potatoes browned up nicely and had very good flavor, but I could have done with less shortening. I served these with 'Cheesy Ham Cups' and 'Mini Sour Cream Biscuits'. Both are AR recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These are a good basic recipe, but the use of bacon grease makes these healthy (shortening is hydrogenated and full of trans fat and there is nothing good about any kind of vegetable oil as it is harmful for your heart) and delicious. I save all my bacon fat in a large mug in the refrigerator for when I need it to fry with or to add some flavor to beans and other foods. I like to chop onions and cook in mine for added pizzaz. Shredded cheddar and frshly snipped chives added when done sends these over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Very, very good. And very easy. However, they did take much more than 15 minutes to brown. Expect to turn them over once in a while for about double that time. Will do again, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Great basic recipe! I always use an onion in combination with the potatoes. I don't like the garlic powder that early in the morning so I add lots of black pepper and a pinch of salt. It takes a while waiting for potatoes to brown flip and wait some more but it's worth it. My grandkids will pass up their mom's & dad's to eat mine! They are great cooks but there are some things in life grandma is just better at doing! Try it you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I made this the other night as a side for dinner! It tasted wonderful. Instead of measuring everything, I just kind of eyeballed it! Will definately cook this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States