Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I just LOVE this recipe!!! It is so easy and yummy! I like to make extra baked potatoes and then make these the next day with those. Onions and Green peppers make a great addition to them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I have been eating and cooking these potatoes all of my life. Cast iron NOT non-stick is the only way to cook these right. If your potatoes burned, you cooked them too high or did not have enough fat, or both. They are best cooked in bacon grease. Mama always used onion and garlic salt. I use Morton's Natures Seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamaraDLMerritt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I'm a senior citizen of German heritage, and was raised on this recipe in childhood. The only difference was that Mom would add a little more salt & pepper, would add about a cup of onion to the skillet(rough chop),and fry 3 or 4 bacon slices in another skillet till crisp, and sprinkle crumbled bacon on top potatoes when served. These days, I am more aware of the sat-fat issue, & substitute extra light olive oil for the shortening. It does taste the same, & still takes me back to my days on the family farm. Potatoes were served every day in one form or another, as we raised them in the garden, and they were cheap & plentiful. Thanks to GodivaGirl for bringing back those good old memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKYWAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
My fiance makes these whenever he cooks breakfast and they are great. He does add some diced onions and green peppers to the mix or onion powder. We eat these w/ ketchup on the side with our eggs and bacon. Makes for a filling breakfast. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Try microwaving the potatoes first. I use the baked potato mode. I do the two potatoes for frying four potatoes. And so on. This really speeds up your frying time. Don, Wagner, SD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I've been eating these potatoes all my life. My family is southern and my mom made them this way and so do I. Occasionally, I add chopped onions and green peopper. I serve them with hamburgers and baked beans for a fast supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
These came out really good. Everybody was begging for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a very good base recipe, spice it up with peppers, onions and extra hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PascoTracy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Simple and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
These were good, but just a little bland. I like a lot of spice in my potatoes. I will make these again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vagriffs5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States