Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
loved this. old style taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Very good. The spices add a good flavour. Liked it better when I used olive oil instead of shortening - less of a greasy texture and taste. When making the second time, I added spices towards the end of cooking and they blended in with potatoes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Fantastic!! I would give this more stars if I could. I followed the recipe exactly, no changes whatsoever. I used Yukon Gold potatoes, and they came out so amazing, my picky kids couldn't get enough. Even the five year old, who hates potatoes and won't even touch french fries, gave this one a double thumbs up. They turned out a beautiful golden brown, perfect crunch on the outside, yet creamy on the inside, and the seasoning was amazing. Nothing bland about these. They took a bit to cook and get that beautiful color, but it's fine, since I didn't have to "babysit" them, just stir every once in a while. I served them with roasted chicken and green beans. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I've made these for years. The only thing I do different is when I make baked potatoes for dinner I make a few extra. Then peel and dice them for Sunday breakfast. I fry them in olive oil and add diced peppers and onions and add garlic and onion powder along with salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Average recipe for fried potatoes. Definitely need to heat the shortening up well before cooking them and make sure not to over stir them. Added some cheese on top after they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Add Onions when they are almost ready. I like Konriko seasoning. If you microwave your potatoes after you cut them they will cook faster and the starch that seeps out while in the microwave will make a crispier coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
good simple recipe. I was looking for what temp to cook them at. I just cooked it on a low setting, and they stopped sticking to the pan. I also think you could add green onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slowcookerpauly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I added 3 cut up bacon strips, fried those, then added the other ingredients. Very good. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaeleM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elberfeld, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lyons, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
These were AMAZING. So incredibly flavorful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Home fries are a staple at our hunt camp,we always make extra boiled potatoes at dinner time.They go on the gridle as soon as breakfast is started ,must cook for at least 1/2 hour. Add green peppers and chopped onion to the basic recipe and add apple spice pie seasoning along with paprica and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States