Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
pretty good base recipe. I boiled my potatoes first for just a few minutes and used olive oil instead of shortening. I also added a bit more seasoning... garlic, parsley, and used kosher salt. came out perfectly cooked and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
these were amazing!!!! the family loved them! I used seasoned salt and omitted all other seasonings. also I used 4 potatoes instead of 6 and oil in place of shortening. thanks sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I think it is ridiculous that people rate this recipe without actually making it. One person used frozen hash browns and basically changed everything else up as well and commented that they should have added peppers and onions...have you heard of potatoes o'brien? Make the recipe if you are going to rate it. Tweets are common but when you go so far that it no longer resembles the recipe then create your OWN recipe and let others rate yours...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Great taste! Good texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lagrange, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midway, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
loved this. old style taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Very good. The spices add a good flavour. Liked it better when I used olive oil instead of shortening - less of a greasy texture and taste. When making the second time, I added spices towards the end of cooking and they blended in with potatoes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Fantastic!! I would give this more stars if I could. I followed the recipe exactly, no changes whatsoever. I used Yukon Gold potatoes, and they came out so amazing, my picky kids couldn't get enough. Even the five year old, who hates potatoes and won't even touch french fries, gave this one a double thumbs up. They turned out a beautiful golden brown, perfect crunch on the outside, yet creamy on the inside, and the seasoning was amazing. Nothing bland about these. They took a bit to cook and get that beautiful color, but it's fine, since I didn't have to "babysit" them, just stir every once in a while. I served them with roasted chicken and green beans. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I've made these for years. The only thing I do different is when I make baked potatoes for dinner I make a few extra. Then peel and dice them for Sunday breakfast. I fry them in olive oil and add diced peppers and onions and add garlic and onion powder along with salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Average recipe for fried potatoes. Definitely need to heat the shortening up well before cooking them and make sure not to over stir them. Added some cheese on top after they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Add Onions when they are almost ready. I like Konriko seasoning. If you microwave your potatoes after you cut them they will cook faster and the starch that seeps out while in the microwave will make a crispier coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States