Country Style Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
SOOOOOOO good!! Put in some rosemary too and added butter at the end. I didnt make enough!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
These are terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I microwaved the potatoes for 3 minutes before frying. I fried bacon and then set aside the bacon for use later on. I used the bacon fat instead of the shortening to fry the potatoes until golden brown, adding onion and garlic powder. I added the bacon and chopped rosemary, salt and pepper. My husband was eating it out the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
you frying them in Shortning is the secret
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Love fried potatoes. Grew up on them and my family loves them as well. I always, always use bacon dripping to fry the potatoes and at the end when the potatoes are soft I cover them in a layer of chopped onions (we love onions and this just makes the dish...to us) and put the lid on to steam the onions. That way the onions do not burn when the potatoes are cooking and you have a great sweet oniony taste when you mix it all together and serve. Old standby at my house that can be served any time of the day. No matter what time we serve breakfast food if we want to dress it up we cook these kind of potatoes. Yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mee-Maw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
oops , forgot to add you can cut these in any shape/size you want the only difference it makes is in cooking time . If you use shortening and dont like the finished texture , switch potatoes . Each type has its own characteristics !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Very good, been doing taters like this for years, but, along with the smell and flavor, I always add a small onion diced or sliced. Love onions in fried taters for breakfast or any meal. Crispy they are better than french fries with a hamburger off the grill. save some extra baked potatoes for good results..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I add a chopped onion to mine though...gotta have the onion!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I've been making fried potatoes this way for around 30 years and just love them. I do sometimes use bacon grease instead of shortening (sometimes I use a bit of both...I find oil to make the potatoes too oily) and I always fry in chopped onion in with the potatoes for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States