Country Soup in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Love this recipe! it makes a great gift in a jar, but mostly it is a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Great recipe... I played with it a bit to make it "Survival" worthy. I dehydrated my own onions, bell peppers,celery and carrots. I put everything needed to make it soup except the water into a quart Mason Jar,placed an Oxygen eater packet on top, sealed it and have a whole meal on my shelf. I make about 10 quart jars of meals in a jar a month for that inevitable day here in Florida when a hurricane knocks out the power for several days or even weeks. With an ample supply of bottled water and my Coleman cook stove, this old lady and her family will be eating good. And hopefully, I will have enough so that I will be able to share the bounty with neighbors who aren't prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This is beautiful and it does make a delicious soup, but the directions are all wrong! You have to cook this for at least two hours to get the peas and lentils soft, I had to use twice as much water and it was still way thicker than I like my soup (it was still really good though). There is no way you can put the pasta in at the beginning or you will have a mess!! BOO!! I even think you should make this in pint jars and nont include the pasta in the jar, but include it in the recipe as something to add. I did make up a bunch of these and I am going to tweak the directions and also tell the receivers that they can refer to this site for suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I am in complete agreement with Marla Clancy's review above. This appearance in the jar was beautilful however this soup was terrible. I also did not have an opportunity to try the soup and gave it away as a gift. Luckily I had only given out one jar to a family member. She said that soup was waaaay too thick and starchy and that it had no flavor. In order to obtain the correct consistency, you would end up with a huge amount of very bland soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I had to make changes. Added an extra cup water, as the soup was too thick. Had to cook an additional 2 hours to get beans and lentils tender. DON'T ADD PASTA until 20 minutes or so before serving. Needed alot more seasoning. Once tweaked, it is very good. Looks wonderful in jars! Perfect for gift giving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMac72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is really good soup. I made it for a few people for Christmas gifts and one friend said it was very delicious and she hadn't added any of the extras just made what was in the jar. I made some tonight and I did not use cabbage I added 4 carrots and 2 stalks of celery, I used chicken bouillon granules and brown rice and a can of diced tomatoes. The only thing I found was I had it on medium low for over an hour and when I tasted it the veggies and everything were still hard so I brouht the soup to a boil on medium high and let it boil for about 10-15 minutes. Everything was perfect but then the noodles were too soft and soggy. It also was a little on the salty side for me so next time I might just use 1 teaspoon of salt instead of 2 and add the noodles towards the end of cooking instead of at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momofthreekids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Hobe Sound, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is the best - make sure you add this line to the instruction "Add noodles and pasta in the last 10 minutes"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 'Couv John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I made these for my fiance' family for Christmas and they loved them! I substituted the beef bouillon with veggie bouillon cubes for the vegan in the family, and she loved that too. When I make this for myself (instead of as a gift) I omit the bouillon cubes all together and replace the water with beef broth. Great Recipe!! I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Yikes why do people like this?? I wanted to test the recipe before making the gifts, and I'm so glad that I did. The soup was a stinky porridge of barley-lentil-rice goo. I had even added carrots, celery and onions, but it didn't make a difference. Be warned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Really flavorful, and healthy too. A great vegan dish, as I am vegan myself. It is full of protein which makes it quite delectable if I do say so myself. I would just add that the water should probably be cut in half as it makes quite a lot, and the entire quantity would not fit in the crockpot. I made it without the bouillon or the pasta and it still tasted fantastic. Yet it is hard to distinguish the flavors of all the ingredients as they all sort of blend together, and that was my only misfortune with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Adas bil Hamod (Lebanese Lentil Lemon Soup)

See how to make a traditional Lebanese lemony lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States