Country Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Oh yum. The other reviewers are right, this bread is very pretty. As always, I made a few changes. First, I used 3 T ground flaxseed and toasted it with the other seeds. There's really no point in using whole flax seeds as most of the nutrients can't be extracted through chewing and digesting alone. Using ground seeds will still give you that robust flax flavor and all of the wonderful omega-3s. You can buy ground flax seed or you can grind your own in a food processor/blender. I added 2 t of raw sunflower seeds to make up for the missing crunch from the flax seeds. Instead of honey, I used blackstrap molasses (this has an unbelievable amount of vitamins and nutrients and is rather tasty), which may have given the bread a stronger flavor than with honey, but it was still delicious. I put all ingredients in my bread machine and set it on the dough cycle. At the end of the cycle, I put the dough in a very lightly greased clear glass loaf pan and baked it at 375 for 30 minutes. The crust was crunchy and flavorful, while the interior was moist and lighter than you might think. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This is a great bread recipe, Donna. I've only made 12 loaves in 8 days. What does that tell ya? The seed combination adds a nice nutty flavor.I didn't take time to toast the seeds, but other than that, I did exactly as the recipe states. Didn't have to change a thing to get a beautiful loaf of very flavorful bread. As another reviewer commented, this is pretty enough to give as gifts. This recipe makes me look like a skilled baker, but its sooo easy my granddaughter can do it.All 12 loaves have come out perfect every time. I use the dough cycle, then shape the loaf, place it in a 9X5 bread pan, and bake at 375 degrees for exactly 32 minutes. WoW! GREAT BREAD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
For those not using a bread machine: While the seeds are toasting, blend the yeast into 1/4C of the water, (warmed), along with the honey, (warmed) and the salt. Wait for bubbles to form, and then add the remaining water and the oil. In another bowl mix the flour and the seeds, (I didn't wait for them to cool), and mix into the liquid to create a ball of dough. Cover with a towel and allow to rise in a warm place. The stovetop worked nicely, since the oven had been on. I left it for a half an hour and got a small loaf. I'm not sure whether it would have risen further had I waited longer, as I used regular white flour rather than bread flour, but under less hurried circumstances I'd have left it for an hour. From here I followed ItsJustaRide's baking directions. This was lovely toasted with butter for breakfast. My parents put jam on it and said it was very good, but I didn't think it needed any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This is a really great loaf bread; perfect for sandwiches, heavenly as toast, great for grilled sandwiches, and just right when you simply want a fresh slice to hold some honey or butter. It doesn't need any changes - you can make it just as directed and it will come out perfectly every time. If you want a variation, however, it is perfectly amenable to tinkering. I frequently add oat bran, diastatic malt, and/or sunflower seeds. I often change the bread flour to a mix of plain and whole wheat flour (although when I do this, I add a tablespoon of wheat gluten to the mix, and increase the yeast quantity to 2 1/2 tsp.) For a sweeter version, I simply increase the honey and add a handful of currents. I bake almost all the breads my family eats; traditional, artisan, flat breads, rolls, braids, you name it. That being said, this is the best "everyday" loaf recipe I've come across, and I thank Donna Beth for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by therese of the bluegrass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
This bread comes out perfect every time. I make the dough in my bread machine and then bake it in a long loaf on my baking stone. Really tasty with an excellent texture. Pretty enough to give away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2002
This is a nice light bread. Very good taste and texture. It's the best multigrain bread I've ever made in my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITSTER5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Very good. Makes a small loaf (probably 1 lb). Changes I made because I had no poppy seeds: 2 tbsp of flax seeds, 1 tbsp+2 tsp sunflower seeds. I love the taste of sunflower seeds in bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
A really great thick bread. I added soynuts and pine nuts to make it even heartier. Absolutely gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
Always turns out! I didn't have poppy seeds so I used millet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
This was a delicious and savoury recipe. The grains and nuts give it a very satisfying texture and flavour. The dough was a bit too sticky and I had to add a little flour but it still turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States