Country Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Really nice bread, great for toasting too. I replaced half of the water with the soy milk for a little more flavour and protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZAPATISTA234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This was really great bread, I am definately making this again. I ground the flax (linseeds)so they digested easily and provided the anitoxidants, and then toasted them with the rest of the seeds. The consistancy was very good, very impressed. Thanks for the recipe Donna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CZARDAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Narre Warren, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe and it came out perfectly. I can't say enough good things about it! I put the bread machine on and then made the soup to go with it for dinner and my husband and I polished off more than half the loaf. I will make this again and again and will probably "fiddle" with the recipe a bit, by changing the seeds as there are so many out there. Update: Shelled sunflower seeds add a lovely nuttiness to this bread and may be my favourite variation with equal amounts of subflower seeds, poppy seeds and flax seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I like making bread the old fashioned way...by hand and bake it in my oven so that's what I did with this. It's pretty good tasting, however, it didn't rise very high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
A delicious hearty bread. Everyone loved it. Have made it twice and it came out great both times, following recipe exactly. Didn't toast the seeds the second time (mistake), but we toasted the bread for breakfast and it brought out the flavor of the seeds. Will make this bread again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Bread had a nice texture but I wasn't very fond of the flavor. That's probably due to the fact that I didn't have flax seed so subbed sunflower seeds. Will try it with flax seed before I give up on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I have made several breads from this site both in the breadmaker and by hand. This easily makes my top 3. I didn't have any poppyseeds so used sunflower seeds instead. The crust on this tastes just like the crust on the bread my mother used to buy from our local bakers when I was growing up. No bread has ever matched it until now. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Wonderful! Used millet and amaranth seeds along with the flax. Great texture and taste, even when modified for a 2lb loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I LOVE this bread! It is so nice and light, unlike many of the wheat breads I have made. I used one cup bread flour and one cup whole wheat floor, and I used a handful of crushed pecans along with the seeds. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
This is a good seed bread, but I think the sesame seed flavor was a bit strong. I increased the wheat so that it was half wheat and half white. Overall a good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States