Country Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
Oh yum. The other reviewers are right, this bread is very pretty. As always, I made a few changes. First, I used 3 T ground flaxseed and toasted it with the other seeds. There's really no point in using whole flax seeds as most of the nutrients can't be extracted through chewing and digesting alone. Using ground seeds will still give you that robust flax flavor and all of the wonderful omega-3s. You can buy ground flax seed or you can grind your own in a food processor/blender. I added 2 t of raw sunflower seeds to make up for the missing crunch from the flax seeds. Instead of honey, I used blackstrap molasses (this has an unbelievable amount of vitamins and nutrients and is rather tasty), which may have given the bread a stronger flavor than with honey, but it was still delicious. I put all ingredients in my bread machine and set it on the dough cycle. At the end of the cycle, I put the dough in a very lightly greased clear glass loaf pan and baked it at 375 for 30 minutes. The crust was crunchy and flavorful, while the interior was moist and lighter than you might think. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This is truly the best bread! I think you could add almost any seed type and have it turn out well. I stick to the recipe for the most part, but took the idea from someone else yo add more honey (I use 6 tsp.) I also add 1/4 c. raisens and 1/4 c. craisens (dried cranberries) following the directions that came with my bread machine. We love the fruit and nutty taste. I'd give this bread a 6 if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suneelady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flagler Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
This is my family's favorite homemade bread. I only make one change. The first time I made this bread I accidently added 4 tablespoons of honey instead of 4 teaspoons. It was so good that I have continued to do the same thing every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Herrin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is the best bread i have tasted. My parents just love it. Of all the breads, they said that this was the best. I followed the suggestions to sub sunflower seeds for poppy seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I mixed this recipe in my machine and baked it in the oven. It was good, but not phenomenal, as other reviews suggested. However, I was hesitant to add all the amounts of seeds listed, so I used only half. Next time, I will add them all, and see if I liked it more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Wonderful-I added a little more water and 2 Tablespoons of millet into the mix. This was crunchy on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside and soooo tasty. It sliced really well too-it was great for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
My kids LOVE this bread. It comes out perfectly every time. I make a loaf for dinner and then the next day use the leftovers for sandwiches or french toast. I don't change a thing in the recipe -- it's just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
i ate the entire loaf while it was still hot!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
WOW!!! This is perhaps my favorite bread recipe!! The taste of the toasted seeds is just fabulous! I gave this recipe to my mom, my sister and my aunt, and everybody love it! In fact, my father (who is a breakfast cereal man) will eat this bread the morning if there is some in the house. I tried not toasting the seed once, but the taste is far better when they're toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Wonderful texture & very tasty! Very easy, too! Thanks, Donna! P.S. I did have to add a little bit more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States