Country Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I bought a bread machine about 2 months ago and this bread may be the best wheat bread I have tried so far taste wise. My only change, when adding the ingredients to the machine, were using 1 tablespoon of flax meal and 2 tablespoons of roasted unsalted sunflower seeds for the flax seeds. I just don't care for flax seeds. I also used Gold Medal's white whole wheat flour. Note: I noticed this was not enough dough to make a loaf of bread in my 2lb Zojirushi bread machine. It has a rectangle pan and makes standard loaves only. I suggest, if this is the type of bread maker available, to double the recipe or bake in the oven. As it was too late to double the recipe, I took the dough out after the 2nd rise and right before it started the baking cycle in the machine. I lined a baking sheet with parchment, sprayed it with PAM, and lightly sprinkled a circle of cornmeal on it. I gently placed the dough in a circle. It did deflate some, so I lightly sprayed it with olive oil and covered with plastic wrap. I let it rise about 25 minutes more while preheating the oven to 375. It had a nice rounded dome shape by that point. I baked it 25 minutes, let it cool 7-8 minutes on the pan, and then transferred to a cooling rack. Had one warm slice to see if it baked up and it is delicious. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This bread was easy to make and tasted amazing. I used the bread machine to make the dough, as per suggestions of others, but when I took it out of the bread machine it looked small sitting in the greased glass baking dish. I decided to let the dough rise for about an hour and it more than doubled in size before baking. I am very glad I did this last step prior to baking since it probably would have been very dense otherwise. I baked it at 400 for the first 5 minutes and then finished it at 350 for the last 25. My main suggestion to those of you whom use the bread maker for the dough and then bake it in the oven is let it rise first! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I have been making bread for years and this is one of the best IMHO. Everyone loved it including my son who is very picky about his bread as he worked in an artisan bakery as a student. I have been given the task of providing Easter dinner for our large Italian family and this is the bread that I will be making. I made two small changes, I added wheat gluten and formed it into two small, round loafs that I baked on a pizza stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Really good bread. I got the bright idea to make 1 1/2 times the original recipe and adjusted it to 15 servings. It outgrew the bread machine pan so I had quite a mess. Still good and I will make this again, not increasing the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Perfect hearty bread!! It does make a small loaf but thats probably a good thing so i dont eat it all!! lol its that Good!!! I did half the oil and added two tsp of apple sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This is wonderful! It has become our favorite bread and it bakes well in our bread machine,doubling for a beautiful, large loaf. (I don't toast the seeds though--too lazy!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
The first time I made it I didn't have flax so added sunflower seeds. Very good. Now I add 2tbsp sunflower seed every time. If using bread machine yeast, the equivalent is just a bit over 3/4 tsp instead of the 1 1/4 tsp active dry yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Pretty good. Made delicious toast. This had a quick bread, almost cake-like crumb. I suspect the culprit is gluten. Next time, I will add 1-2 TB. Whole wheat flour usually needs a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I doubled the batch and it only made two small loaves. the bread took a long time to rise, and didn't hold together on the sides. i baked in 375 for 30min at 5000ft elevation (colorado). i would add a tablespoon or two of gluten and another 1/2 t of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
So tasty!! I actually had no poppy seeds but i had some black sesame seeds that I substituted and those with the flax and regular sesame seeds = delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States