Country Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I loved this!! It was so creamy with such a great taste! We like a lot of cheese so I did layer the cheese along with the other layers instead of just on the top. I will be making this as a dish to pass for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Turned out perfect. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great recipe the only thing I did different was add a half cup sour cream. Also added more time 20 minutes more seemed to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
My family absolutely loved this. They ate it for breakfast the next day. I added another cup of cheese and instead of using just cheddar, I used marble cheese (monterey and cheddar) it tasted really "ono" ("good" in hawaiian).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Best Scalloped Potato recipe I have tried though did use Swiss Chalet Gravy mix instead of can gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This was okay as written, but a bit too runny. I used the slicing side of my grater to get uniformly thin pieces and they were thoroughly cooked, but the taste was just average. If I make it again, I will definitely cut down on the liquid and add spices, perhaps some grated white pepper, oregano and garlic. With all the sodium in the recipe, I will not add any salt. I will also use extra sharp cheddar or some other stronger tasting cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I thought these were really good. I used my food processor to slice up the potatoes so they were nice and thin. I make exactly except I used the cheddar cheese soup instead. I did cook covered an additional 15 minutes as the potatoes needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was delicious, and I didn't change a thing! A great use for leftover ham. Will definitely be makinng again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I loved this recipe and my family came back for seconds. I substituted Campbells Cheddar soup for the gravy and it turned out spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe! I modified mine a bit, though. I didn't have any cream of celery soup or gravy, so I used a can of cream of chicken soup, and made my own gravy. 1 1/4 c. cold water, 1/2 c. flour, and 3 chick. bouillion cubes. I arranged half of the potatoes in the bottom of a 9x13 pan, sprinkled 1/2 of the ham, and a few of the onions, and then topped with 1 c. cheese. I repeated with the remainder of the potatoes and other ingredients, then topped with another cup of cheese and carefully poured the milk, gravy, soup mixture over all of it. I covered and baked at 400 degrees for 30 min, then removed the foil and baked at 375 degrees for another 30 minutes. HUGE HIT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericablueeyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

How to Fix Lumpy Mashed Potatoes

Got lumpy, bumpy mashed potatoes?! See quick tricks that will save the day!

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States