Country Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made this dish last Christmas for a family get-together. It was a big hit and a few cousins asked for this recipe. I substituted the chicken gravy with a can of Campbell's Cream of Chicken Soup. Also, I didn't put as much diced ham as the recipe calls for. I only added an 8oz. package and it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This passed the test! Everyone loved it! We used leftover Christmas ham and it worked well. I did add an additional 2 potatos to the batch and am glad I did. It would have been very moist without them. I used a mandoline to cut all of the potatos in uniform slices so my dish cooked in the exact time as listed. The only thing I would do different is dice my onions instead of chop...some of the onions were a little crunchy. This will go into the keeper pile! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe!!! I really wondered if the celery soup and gravy was going to work but my very fussy grandson loved it, as did my husband!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
My children and I made this today for Christmas dinner. Prep time was a little longer than 15 minutes per batch. Substituted cream of asparagus for celery because that's all the only open market had. Also used cream of chicken soup instead of gravy ( store supplies again!). It turned out perfect in flavor, consistency and apperance. Made double batch for about 14 people and it all dissapeared. We'll definitely make it again and will also try the original recipe. ( Kids enjoyed helping as well and were very proud of their accomplishment!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Fantastic recipe...this one rivals (or even beats) my Mother's...the only change I made was mixing of all the ingredients together and spreading it out evenly in 2 layers. We've made it twice and it is guaranteed to bring the kids running to dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Tasty, I used cream of chicken (because I had it laying around at the time), and I didn't cook ham in in (because that was the main dish). Just remember to slice the potatoes thin enough to allow them to cook completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chryplewicz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Family favorite! I use a can of Campbell's Cheddar Cheese Soup instead of the soup listed. Freezes well and so yummy it keeps 'em asking for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNIE102369

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was just ok for me. I don't think I'd make it again, but I think most people would like it - the gravy sort of threw me off a bit. I prefer regular scalloped potatoes. I needed to cook it about 20 minutes more to be sure all the potatoes were cooked through. Just be sure to use uniformly thin slices of potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Very yummy! Loved how creamy it was with the gravy and soup mixture. I did have to bake it 35 minutes longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I loved this!! It was so creamy with such a great taste! We like a lot of cheese so I did layer the cheese along with the other layers instead of just on the top. I will be making this as a dish to pass for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

How to Fix Lumpy Mashed Potatoes

Got lumpy, bumpy mashed potatoes?! See quick tricks that will save the day!

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States