Country Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Not quite as good as my Dad's but he took his recipe to the grave. I will have to tweek this one a few times to get it closer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pequot Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was a great easy meal. First time I ever made scalloped potatoes. I'll never by those weird boxed versions again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
The flavor of the finished product did not reflect it's ingredients. I often make scalloped potatoes & ham with better results & a lot less work, calories & sodium. Other reviewers were also spot-on by stating that additional time was needed to get the potatoes cooked...about 40-45 min. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Baerwaldt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I tried this and it never cooked! The potatoes had a great taste but they never cooked they were still crunchy. I knew I did everything the recipe said to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jordyn31

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I took out the ham and replaced it with some bacon bits and then used one can of Cream of Mushroom and one can of Cream of Celery. I thought using some of the vegetarian bacon strips would be a good replacement also but I was out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
VERY GOOD! I substituted cream of celery with cream of mushroom and 1 cup of water with a chicken bullion cube because i did not have gravy and it was really good. added salt and pepper. Also added about a cup of shredded cheddar and cooked a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was just wonderful! I've been making scalloped potatoes all my life and this is now my go-to recipe. I doubled the recipe, substituted cream of chicken soup for the gravy, threw in some red bell pepper, a couple of dashes of hot sauce and the sour cream someone else suggested. Had no cheese, so left it out. Used buttered bread crumbs instead. It was still delicious. Three of us went through an 11 x 15 pan in two days. I use my salad shooter to slice the potatoes and grate the cheese. I don't know how anyone gets along without one of those things. Other comments about baking time are correct. Scalloped potatoes should not be crunchy or even al dente. Allow at least an hour for baking and more if you double it. Thank you, Campbell's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CREEPER00

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
It took awhile but it turned out wonderfully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I was looking for a homey, comfort food to accompany the highest rated slow cooker pot roast recipe also found on this site. Because I was using it as a side dish I left out the ham and it was still amazing. I used my mandoline to evenly and thinly slice both the potatoes and the onions so it cooked evenly and perfectly. As many stated, it tasted even better the second day and my 16 year old boy literally licked his plate. This will be a regular meal in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

How to Fix Lumpy Mashed Potatoes

Got lumpy, bumpy mashed potatoes?! See quick tricks that will save the day!

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States