Country Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
The soup, milk, and cheese combine into a nice cheese sauce. Really flavorful. I added green beans to round it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momuv4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I didn't like the flavor of the chicken gravy/cream of celery mixture. I thought the casserole ended up being bland despite the salt level in the full fat/full salt Campbell's soup and gravy I used. I love a Campbell's soup casserole, and usually they are delicious, but this one fell flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
After reading all the reviews I tweaked this recipe considerably. Thanks everyone for providing all the feedback since I used a combination of your tweaks and my own. I myself used all Campbell products for the liquid portion: Cream of Mushroom/w Roasted Garlic, Cheddar soup, and Chicken Broth. I substituted the chicken broth for the milk this recipe called for because milk would have washed out some the flavor in my opinion. I used a pound of hickory smoked bacon that I cooked on the stove top after cutting it into small pieces. I diced half a yellow onion and added two cloves of fresh minced garlic. I used the side of a basic 4 sided shredder that does slices for cutting the potatoes. I used approximately 8-10 of what I considered to be small potatoes. After the first layer of potatoes were in the baking dish I put on top of this half the bacon, half of the sauce, all of the diced onion and garlic that had been sauteed and some shredded extra sharp cheddar. Once the second layer of potatoes were added, whatever I had left was placed on top of that included more shredded cheese. I covered the dish with aluminum foil and cooked for 1 hour at 400 degrees. I then took the dish out and uncovered it, shredded a bit more cheese on top and placed it back in the oven for 30 minutes. After the dish sat for close to 30 minutes it was perfect. This is absolutely the best potato dish I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefmeister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Excellent scalloped potatoes & ham recipe! Even better as leftovers. I had only cream of chicken soup and only turkey gravy on hand so used those; I don't think it would matter much what you used. Great way to use up leftover ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This recipe turned out really good. The only thing I would change is I would use 1 cup shredded cheddar between layers then cook as directed. Then use the recommended 1 cup shredded cheddar on top as recipe directs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
The kids went bonkers for this. Only had enough for an 8x8 pan and everyone was mad that I didn't make more. Subbed cream of celery for cream of mushroom and subbed ham for bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made this with coconut milk and the recipe tasted fine but was far too runny for my taste. Regular milk would probably work better or perhaps less or no milk at all. I would try again but tweak the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana E. Crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This is a great recipe! It was so simple and the whole family loved it. It is a very "forgiving" recipe if you don't have the exact ingredients or if you want to change things up a bit. I tweaked it just a little: I made my own gravy since I didn't have any on hand; the only cream soup in my pantry was cream of potato so that is what I used; I sauteed the onions for a few minutes prior to building the casserole AND I went a little heavier on the cheese than called for. Still, it is a GREAT basic recipe and the combination of flavors is delicious. I think this is our new favorite comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Great use of leftover ham! Followed recipe exactly, except I omitted the onion. Tasted great but I wouldn't call them "scalloped potatoes".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I would not recommend the cream of celery for this recipe. I made this tonight for Christmas dinner and my whole family agreed that the cream of celery was a mistake. It ruined the whole dish for me. It was not terrible but not how I hoped it would taste. I will not make it again this way. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

How to Fix Lumpy Mashed Potatoes

Got lumpy, bumpy mashed potatoes?! See quick tricks that will save the day!

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States