Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
very very yummy! I am a northern girl who loves southern cooking and I think this came out pretty darn good:) I only had sweet sausage and red pepper but it turned out great. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
love this recipe! I added mushrooms (shiitake and cremini) It came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Delicious. Highly recommend this recipe. It's easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
okay, yes it was very awesome BUT- i did lessen the pepper flakes & found it still quite spicy (good for me, not the kiddos!) also, be careful with the boulion cubes, it does NOT need two if you are using the "knorr" brand, as they are quite large. be sure to adjust salt seasoning AFTER dish is finished, bc the boulion is salty itself!! about 1/2 cup plus extra milk is necessary once all cooked. Otherwise GREAT recipe. will make over again with a few tweaks ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noelle thom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I made changes I wasn't particularly happy with, so my rating is a 5 star based on making the recipe without my changes, and the fact that my husband absolutely loved it, I can foresee this as excellent when made as written. I didn't have cows milk, I have soy milk, so I used that. It seemed too sweet. It may have been the soy milk. I will try this again and use cow's milk as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Standfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Substituted the chicken broth with more milk. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie McCulloch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I've never written a review before, but I HAD to for this. By far, the BEST country gravy I've ever had. Huge win in our house! Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Got up this morning and made this with turkey sausage and refrigerated biscuits. The package of sausage was 9.6 oz. so cut down the amounts of everything else accordingly. I'm rating this 4 stars instead of 5 because I think the amount of red pepper called for would be way too much. I just used a light shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
A whole teaspoon of red pepper flakes? I cut that back to a 1/4 teaspoon and it was plenty zippy. We like this with the added onions and peppers. Most sausage gravy is bland and floury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Mehlberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I'm not a fan of sausage gravy and most recipes are very bland. My husband loves it, so I decided to try this one. Extremely flavorful with just the slightest kick. I'm definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States