Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My family absolutely loved this gravy! I served it over some country fried chicken tenders (based on the Country Fried Chicken recipe submitted by visions) and they all got devoured. My only changes were that I used sweet Italian sausage, about half a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes, and left out the bell pepper and chicken bullion because I forgot to buy them. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jpop

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I loved this gravy! I really like all the added veggies and herbs that I normally don't put into a country gravy. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used about 1/4 tsp. dried. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I added some salt and pepper when the recipe stated to, and there was way too much "flavor." I went against my better judgement. Salt and pepper it when it is completed if you think it needs it. And I would recommend 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes instead of a whole tsp. A bit too much POW for the morning biscuits and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very good gravy recipe. Very basic, but sometimes the simplest things are the best. I did skip the red pepper flakes, neither me nor the kids like spicy foods. I also didn't have bell pepper. But it was fine the way it was. The kids gobbled it up, the hubby ate six (!) biscuits with lots and lots of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We used this recipe in our biscuits and gravy recipe war and it kicked butt. Sure, peppers and fresh herbs may not be traditional, but traditional or not, this kicked some serious butt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
AWESOME GRAVY!!! I could not believe how delicious this was, definitely worth the time to make it! I love country gravy and this was the best I have had! Take the time to make it! 1 tsp red pepper was pretty darn spicy for me, probably will half it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I actually only used 1/2 lb of sausage (and it was turkey sausage), but used the whole 4 tbsp butter/flour & 2 cups of milk. I omitted the red pepper flakes, garlic & sage. I used a red pepper instead of green & sprinkled with poultry seasoning instead of the bouillon. This was really tasty - a more flavorful version of my usual sausage gravy. I especially like the addition of onions & peppers. I served over 7-up biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremiah Lee Wulf
Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Best Sausage Gravy I ever had! I found this recipe when I was searching for something to make with the fresh sage & thyme I've grown. It's amazing! I follow the recipe to a "T"! I find it easier if I do all the prep work like slicing onion, peppers and herbs ahead of time and have ready to go one the cooking begins. This Yankee sure appreciates the ease of this gravy and my Southern husband LOVES it! I just got finished making it as requested for his Father's Day Breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goose1128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States