Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is absolutely awesome. I am not a sausage gravy person...white sauce and crumbled Jimmy Dean just don't turn the crank, ya know? But my family loves it so I tried this recipe. It is out of this world. I used sage flavored sausage and dried thyme...also added a pinch of dried ginger as was suggested. I did cut the onion and pepper down significantly...i used 1/4 c red banana pepper and 1/2 c finely chopped onion...don't skip the parsley at the end...it is a nice touch. I like the heat of the cayenne, but that is up to you. I also substituted an envelope of McCormick Sausage Gravy mix for the flour. Be prepared to add some extra milk. I served with homemade granola, fresh fruit and yogurt (made me feel better about serving the heart attack biscuits). This is now in my brunch repertiore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Personnally I would have added a dash of ginger and oregano to really bring out the heat. To me it tasted somewhat bland and I wouldnt waste my time with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
THANKS! GREAT RECIPE......I've been trying to make sausage gravy for 14 years (city girl marries country man) and finally my husband gave me a standing ovation after I put this recipe on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
wow, this was truely amazing!! I didn't have green peppers or fresh herbs so i just used dried herbs and it was still amazing!! I also added a bit of maple syrup (because I like it) and didn't use chicken stock (only milk) I was hesitant to put the butter and flour in with the pork sausage (I usually make a roux seperate) but I thought I'd give it a go and well the results I will say again... amazing!! This is the only sausage recipe i'll be using from now on... thanx for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
yummy!!!!!! soooooo good with mashed potatoes and corn! even my 13 month old baby loves this meal. so easy and quick. Thankyou very much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOWNSEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bromley, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
This recipe is so good! We're Canadian and up here you won't find biscuits and gravy in restaurants. My husband has been searching for a while to find a recipe that we like. This is by far the best one yet, it's a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Delicious! Turned out much thicker than I expected, but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was awesome!! I could asjust the seaonings more or less. Was easy and 32 people loved it for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
This reicpe was good but next time I will leave out the chicken bouillon. I think that it took away the sausage taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was SO yummy! Our family gobbled it up over mashed potatoes for dinner, and thankfully there were leftovers, so the next morning I served it over scrambled eggs and toast......I will DEFINITELY be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara North

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States