Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
i kicked myself this was soooo frigging good. i'm a transplant from alabama and with this gravy, i completely validated my long Southern heritage. it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Really great recipe. Was a little spicy for my family but I will make this again cutting back on the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: New Vineyard, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I've made this version of gravy before and I know it's very delicious and easy to make. The only change I made was to use beef bouillon instead of chicken because of my oldest daughter's allergy to poultry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is the best sausage and gravy recipe I have ever eaten! Thanks to the person who submitted it. I made it for a tailgate breakfast prior to an early football game! I increased the ingredients to make enough for about 30 people, but it served more than that. I made one mild version and one with the hot pepper flakes. The spicy gravy was the biggest hit. Then, I made it for company with teens who are picky eaters, and they ate it up. The recipe is so good, I would suggest that you do not omit the onion, bell pepper, garlic, sage, thyme, parsley, peppers or boullion because that's what gives it the unique flavor. (I mince the onions, bell pepper and garlic into small bits in the food processer). Tonight, I made it for our monthly breakfast supper, with eggs on the side. My husband wants me to try it again, using only 1/2 pound of the sausage and cut back on the hot pepper flakes. (He likes alot of gravy). Two biscuits, covered with the gravy, make a hefty serving. So, unless you have really big eaters in your family, the original 1 lb sausage recipe can serve 6 easily. One last comment: I didn't make biscuits from scratch. Pillsbury Frozen Oven Baked Buttermilk Biscuits are the best. No need to thaw. Put them in a preheated oven, bake as directed, and they come out looking like homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
My family loved this. I used low fat sausage and low fat to make it a bit healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Great recipe, I love the extra spices used and not just the same old bland gravy everyone else makes. I put the leftovers in the freezer and took them camping one weekend, everyone loved it. I did not use as much tyme, not a big fan but love the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSTEFANSKI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Struthers, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Good, but sage and thyme were too strong. Would use cream instead of milk next time. The red pepper was a great taste to add though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was good, but I thought the sage/thyme combo was too much. Next time I'll leave them out and just do white & black pepper, garlic & onion powder (and the real thing). I had to change the recipe a bit due to allergens in the bouillon cube. So I used low-sodium chicken broth and cut down the milk by the same amount. Also, I thought 1 lb of meat would be way too much, and I was correct. I only used 1/2 lb for a 4-serving recipe. This makes a lot more than 4 servings (over biscuits). I served them with seasoned scrambled eggs. I use the breakfast sausage recipe from Lee Fogle (it's awesome...and where the sage should be, IMO) made with 1/2 ground turkey and 1/2 ground sirloin. This is a great base recipe, though. I cannot have pre-made gravy due to the allergens, so this is a great one to make from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Very good, however to turn this into a 5 star I would reduce the chicken bullion to 1 cube, not two. Also use 1 cup skim milk and 1 cup fat free 1/2 & 1/2 for better flavor and less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats his face

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made this for my kids for breakfast before school today. They loved it! I use a different recipe usually but decided to try and see if all the extra ingredients made a difference..and it does!! Even my picky daughter said she liked it even though she knew there were peppers in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States