Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very good gravy recipe. Very basic, but sometimes the simplest things are the best. I did skip the red pepper flakes, neither me nor the kids like spicy foods. I also didn't have bell pepper. But it was fine the way it was. The kids gobbled it up, the hubby ate six (!) biscuits with lots and lots of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
We used this recipe in our biscuits and gravy recipe war and it kicked butt. Sure, peppers and fresh herbs may not be traditional, but traditional or not, this kicked some serious butt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
AWESOME GRAVY!!! I could not believe how delicious this was, definitely worth the time to make it! I love country gravy and this was the best I have had! Take the time to make it! 1 tsp red pepper was pretty darn spicy for me, probably will half it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I actually only used 1/2 lb of sausage (and it was turkey sausage), but used the whole 4 tbsp butter/flour & 2 cups of milk. I omitted the red pepper flakes, garlic & sage. I used a red pepper instead of green & sprinkled with poultry seasoning instead of the bouillon. This was really tasty - a more flavorful version of my usual sausage gravy. I especially like the addition of onions & peppers. I served over 7-up biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeremiah Lee Wulf-Toma
Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Best Sausage Gravy I ever had! I found this recipe when I was searching for something to make with the fresh sage & thyme I've grown. It's amazing! I follow the recipe to a "T"! I find it easier if I do all the prep work like slicing onion, peppers and herbs ahead of time and have ready to go one the cooking begins. This Yankee sure appreciates the ease of this gravy and my Southern husband LOVES it! I just got finished making it as requested for his Father's Day Breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goose1128

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Great gravy, Batman! Seriously, good additions for your typical sausage gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very Happy With this recipe! The sage and red pepper flake just ignite this breakfast classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicSmoke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This came out amazing! Very easy to make, didn't take long, and had a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States