Country Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
My family loved this. I used low fat sausage and low fat to make it a bit healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMR12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Great recipe, I love the extra spices used and not just the same old bland gravy everyone else makes. I put the leftovers in the freezer and took them camping one weekend, everyone loved it. I did not use as much tyme, not a big fan but love the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSTEFANSKI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Struthers, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
Good, but sage and thyme were too strong. Would use cream instead of milk next time. The red pepper was a great taste to add though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was good, but I thought the sage/thyme combo was too much. Next time I'll leave them out and just do white & black pepper, garlic & onion powder (and the real thing). I had to change the recipe a bit due to allergens in the bouillon cube. So I used low-sodium chicken broth and cut down the milk by the same amount. Also, I thought 1 lb of meat would be way too much, and I was correct. I only used 1/2 lb for a 4-serving recipe. This makes a lot more than 4 servings (over biscuits). I served them with seasoned scrambled eggs. I use the breakfast sausage recipe from Lee Fogle (it's awesome...and where the sage should be, IMO) made with 1/2 ground turkey and 1/2 ground sirloin. This is a great base recipe, though. I cannot have pre-made gravy due to the allergens, so this is a great one to make from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Very good, however to turn this into a 5 star I would reduce the chicken bullion to 1 cube, not two. Also use 1 cup skim milk and 1 cup fat free 1/2 & 1/2 for better flavor and less fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William H. Wiersema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Branch, Michigan, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I made this for my kids for breakfast before school today. They loved it! I use a different recipe usually but decided to try and see if all the extra ingredients made a difference..and it does!! Even my picky daughter said she liked it even though she knew there were peppers in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
The best I have tasted... I made with soy milk and turkey sausage, tasted great and had very little fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Beautiful recipe! Way better than the usual pasty white with pepper flecks stuff that I usually encounter! Simple process with an exceptional outcome! Thank you so much for sharing! I had neighbors coming over to see what smelled so good ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brwbailey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Auburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is absolutely awesome. I am not a sausage gravy person...white sauce and crumbled Jimmy Dean just don't turn the crank, ya know? But my family loves it so I tried this recipe. It is out of this world. I used sage flavored sausage and dried thyme...also added a pinch of dried ginger as was suggested. I did cut the onion and pepper down significantly...i used 1/4 c red banana pepper and 1/2 c finely chopped onion...don't skip the parsley at the end...it is a nice touch. I like the heat of the cayenne, but that is up to you. I also substituted an envelope of McCormick Sausage Gravy mix for the flour. Be prepared to add some extra milk. I served with homemade granola, fresh fruit and yogurt (made me feel better about serving the heart attack biscuits). This is now in my brunch repertiore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Personnally I would have added a dash of ginger and oregano to really bring out the heat. To me it tasted somewhat bland and I wouldnt waste my time with it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States