Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I have made many pound cake recipes and this is the best one. The only thing that I changed wad that Instead of affing lemon extract, I added almond extract, it was sooo gooood and moist, the only thing is that it was a little bit too sweet for me so next time I'll make it I will add half of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Great pound cake recipe. It tastes just like you imagine a pound cake should taste. I did cover with foil at 50 minutes to keep top from burning. I also used Pam baking spray instead of wax paper. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I would give this 10 stars if I could. This is the perfect pound cake recipe I've been looking for. Moist but not greasy or dense. The lemon flavor was perfect. I was hesitant to add the lemon but decided to make it exactly per the recipe. Now I'm glad I did. I have the first huge strawberries of the spring season to go with this cake and dessert tonight is going to rock husband's world. From now on this is my go to pound cake recipe. Thank you so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Wow! We didn't even bother with glaze; this was so good. We did however eat it one day plain and the next with whip cream and fresh blueberries. Good both ways! In fact, this lasted exactly two days at our house! After reading oodles of reviews I made a few changes: I set out milk, butter and eggs to bring up to room temp. Mixed about 5 mins not 10. Also warning - Do not use cooking spray, use shortening and waxed paper for bottoms or it will stick badly. I don't have a tube or bundt pan so I used two loaf pans. Would love to try almond or orange extract next time in one of the pans. Lastly, the tops were very brown; I think I will cover the last 20 mins next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoenix
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I added fresh lemon juice versus extract (didn't have it). The lemon taste is subtle but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This was pretty good, I made a mistake and made a couple changes. My mistake was I put too much milk, I accidentally poured in 2 cups, after stirring for a few seconds, I realized my mistake and had to pour what extra milk I could. The changes were I used 1 tsp almond extract in place of the vanilla and lemon. I poured the batter into a 9x13 and put it into a cold oven. Turned on the oven to 350 and baked for an hour. Even with the error in milk, this came out pretty good, in fact, I'm glad I put in the extra milk. It gave it just the right moistness, wasn't too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I absolutely loved this pound cake. I've tried many "homemade" recipes and they all seemed flat tasting by comparison to this one. It was the perfect blend of great texture and sweetness. I made a lemon glaze for the top but this would be fine without it. This will be part of my permanent repertoire for parties, gift-giving and just for me. Just one minor comment -- the cake got very dark towards the end of baking and I thought it might burn if I left it in the oven recommended time. So for the last 15 mins. I turned down my oven to 300. (My oven runs hot sometimes so this might have been the problem.) It wasn't burnt at all and tasted wonderful. Thanks for yet another fabulous basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Irresistibly good. Everyone loved it and raved. People who don't eat seconds got seconds. I followed this recipe very closely. I often feel that pound cakes fall short of my memories. This cake was all I remembered pound cake to be and more. I struggled with putting the vegetable shortening in this batter. I only used this recipe because it was close to a recipe I already started measuring out, when I realized it had no leavening and I lost confidence and went looking for another with baking powder. This one worked but I didn't like the idea of shortening in my pound cake. I wanted all butter but I added the 1/2 cup shortening. All I can say is that it is perfect. Whatever the shortening adds, the cake must need. The crumb was dense but somehow fluffy and light at the same time- probably from beating the sugar and butter for 10 mins. I used 2 loaf pans. Next time, I am going to buy a flat sided tube pan just to increase the ratio of top crust because the top crust is that good- I think because of the cold oven. Someone said it taste like Sara Lee (which I despise and can't even eat) but mine didn't at all. There is NO comparison. The only thing I changed was with the flavoring. I wanted to try out my new Princess Cake flavoring from King Arthur so I used 2 tsp of that (rather than lemon) plus a tsp of vanilla paste. I don't think it made much difference. I topped mine with a browned butter lemon glaze which I would do again too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was a pound cake from Heaven....smile. I always have made great pound cakes but this recipe by far is the best. I think the buck stops here for me for pound cake recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alethea
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This was a pretty good recipe. My family really enjoyed this cake. I did not understand the purpose of the wax paper. I think the next time I make this cake, I will add almond extract. This was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States