Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this recipe Christmas Eve. I followed it to the letter - except I used a bundt cake pan with NO wax paper - just sprayed it with PAM spray and coated lightly with flour. All I can say is that it is out of this world good. This is the recipe I have been looking for all these years. The cold oven start gives it that good crusty outer layer. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
My family loved this recipe. It was very easy to make.I cooked the cake in two (2) seperate bread pans as i did not have the pan the recipe called for. We ate one watching the football game and I froze the other.It is also very good if you add cherry pie filling and whip cream to your finished cakes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Wanted to make a plain old fashioned pound cake and this was it! I followed the instructions with only 2 changes (because I needed to substitute) I used evaporated milk and 2 teas. of vanilla extract. I thought I had lemon in my cupboard, but I was out! I used a 10 cup Bundt pan sprayed with Baker's Joy. Put the cake in a cold oven & set the oven for 350 degrees & timer for 80 minutes as instructed. The cake really got too brown, but stil edible. I think next time I will lower the time to 55-60 minutes and keep checking. I think this is a great cake to have with tea or coffee. Hubby raved. His only comment is that he would have like a lemon flavor. Lemon peel would be good along with the extract. This is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Shepherdstown, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I couldn't have been more pleased. Perfect, dense pound cake texture, but still with a light and not overly compact crumb. Flavorful, with the ideal level of moistness, a result of getting the best of both worlds with the butter and shortening combination. (I've experienced both pound cakes that have been too dry as well as those with far too much fat, causing them to be not moist, really, but greasy!) I used this for cupcakes and, just for fun, flavored them with pure watermelon extract, then frosted them with "Grocery Store Frosting," recipe also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was a very good cake. The texture and taste were like a commerical pound cake. I did not use lemon extract, instead adding two teaspoons of vanilla. I used two loaf pans and it filled both. For one cake, I would suggest halving the recipe next time. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
I love it! No more box pound cakes for me! My kids love it too! I halved this recipe and baked it in one loaf pan and it was perfect! I'm making it again! It's your basic pound cake that is great alone, or with a topping or you could even embellish the batter with chocolate chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Perfect pound cake. I love how smooth and white and pretty it is when you cut into it. Tastes just like Sarah Lee. I used margernine instead of butter b/c that's what I buy (WAY cheaper) since we go through so much of it, and extra vanilla instead of lemon extract (didn't have any but I know it would be great with it!). Put it in two loaf pans and baked away. Mine was done in about an hour and a half, I bumped a oven to watch if the middle moved and then tested it with a knife to make sure it was done. Tip: take 1 cup strawberries, 1 c. sugar and one egg white, beat it until stiff and serve on top. VERY GOOD! Thank you for a classic pound cake recipe. Oh - wouldn't this be great layered in a trifle??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
My cake was done at 50 minutes, early as many other reviewers had stated. I actually checked on it at 35 minutes and it was fairly brown by then so I covered it with foil during the remaining baking time so that it didn't overbrown. My DH does not like lemon so I subsituted an extra teaspoon of vanilla for the lemon extract. I was very happy with the results, nice texture and taste. Buttery rich taste with a hint of sweetness. Would be wonderful with sugared sliced strawberries and whipped cream. We finished off a quarter of the cake on my birthday, then froze the rest in individual pieces for a quick dessert in the coming months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. I omitted the lemon, and added an extra 1/2 tsp of vanilla. The cake turned out moist, tender and flavorful. I served it with berries and cream. This is my new favorite pound cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Excellent Pound Cake! This is my go to recipe - never fails - always delicious. For a different look, I decided to add Wilton food colors to the batter. When making this cake, the butter, eggs and milk should all be at room temperature. I use 3 cups of sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I also add 1 teaspoon of almond extract. This recipe also makes an excellent chocolate pound cake -just need to add 4 T. of cocoa and omit the lemon and almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States