Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I was out of ingredients I usually make my pound cake with and searched AR for a different recipe. I chose this one but was disappointed. I followed it to the letter except it tested done at 70 minutes instead of 80. After cooling for an hour, I removed from the parchment lined tube pan. It basically fell apart. My family did not not like the taste and texture as well as other recipes. I sliced and crumbled it up and am now toasting it. My husband will eat anything that is toasted. I was disappointed in the results and will not try this again. I see this recipe a lot in cookbooks and thought that it would be a good one. It was not our taste preference but the texture was the most disappointing of all. I needed it for a charity donation so now I have to make another one. Will make a trip to store and make my recipe. Sorry to all of you who love it but taste is an individual preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maysville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was the very first cake I bake ever. At 51 years of age I decided to try baking. This cake turn out so well, I drove 20 miles to share it with may family, (not all of it of course). I looking for a great Apple pie recipe now. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANJACKSON
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was a very yummy pound cake! I have made a few from AR now - the Cream Cheese Pound Cake being one of my faves. I decided to not use the lemon extract in this and added another tsp of vanilla extract instead. Also used Silk Vanilla Light Soy in place of the milk. 'Iced' it with Hard Chocolate Glaze from AR (as shown in my picture, it was not yet cooled)! Great combo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My first attempt at a pound cake and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Commerce, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Excellent! I think my cake was a little over cooked after 1hr 20mins. so I'll keep an eye on it next time. Otherwise, it is an awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinitstacy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
First pound cake ever, and this recipe made it a total success! Followed the recipe to the letter, except for subing Swans Down cake flour for the AP. Cake was so moist and delicious, I didn't even bother with a glaze. 1hr 20min is a little on the long side, mine burnt a little, but a burnt crust is the mark of a great pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Haven't tasted it yet, but it sure looks ugly! I've done a lot of baking in my life, but this cake totally fell! I followed the directions exactly, but about half an hour after I pulled it out of the oven, the whole middle of the cake caved in on itself and it looks horrible! I'm sorry, this might taste really good, but I don't think I want to serve this to anyone! (And drat the luck, I was supposed to take this over to my boyfriend's house tomorrow!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I made this cake for the first time last week, i followed the directions exactly as it was called for. It was a hit and my family thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
For an honest review...I have tasted better...the cream cheese pound cake is a better quality cake than this one. I could actually taste the shortening in this cake. The consistency was great. I enjoyed the crunchy top. Not one I will add to my recipe box or make again....Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OsoBlessed

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I didn't have any lemon extract, but it was still amazing. The cake is surprisingly light. We used it for our chocolate fondue and it held together quite well. I used a bundt pan and it is beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States