Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by simplylaurie
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was a great pound cake made exactly as given. Next time, though, I would bake it for less time. I pulled it out earlier than directed, but I could've taken it out even earlier. It was enjoyed by all with sliced strawberries sprinkled with a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
this pound cake was perfect! it wasn't too dense and it wasn't too "fluffy"....it was perfect. i didn't have an lemon extract so i used almond instead. some of the top of the cake (which was actually the bottom because i used a bunt pan) browned more than I would have liked it, but I will simply adjust the temperature of the oven next time. i will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Im new to baking and this was easy and delcious!! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
very good taste and texture. However i don't know what I did wrong. It burns on crust. Next time I have to adjust the temparature. It might be because of my oven. Suggest to set the time to 40 minutes for the first check
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This was a wonderful pound cake. A co-worker was asking for a pound cake so I thought I'd give this one a try. I followed the recipe exact except I used a silicone bunt pan that I coated with the Wilton Cake Release I use when I bake regular cakes. I thought this was one of the most wonderful and moist pound cakes ever. I enjoyed the lemon extract and I think I'll try almond next time as almond is my favorite. I thought the batter was a bit much, but it filled the pan when baking perfectly. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trynewthings
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
this cake turned out very moist and delicious...very easy to make....onle thing i did was add a bit more vanilla......so happy i finally found the best pound cake recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This one did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Attalla, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
really good! instead of lemon extract I used orange zest of 1 orange and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carters-mama

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Everyone in this family LOVES this pound cake! I make a gluten/dairy-free version but it is delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cairo, New York, USA
Living In: Westerlo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This turned out well. I baked it in a greased and floured bundt cake pan for about 70 minutes. I specifically went to the store before making this just to get the lemon extract (which isn't cheap either!). If I made this again, I wouldn't put lemon extract in. For me personally it was too much. I'd either double the vanilla or try alittle almond extract. I made sugared strawberries and whipped cream for a shortcake dessert on mothers day. It was yummy! I personally think it would taste better minus the lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States