Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this but like another reviewer I did not have lemon extract, so I just used the vanilla. After it was done and cooled I put on a small amount of vanilla frosting glaze. This cake is moist and yummy. My granddaughter got to take what was left home. Her mother said she didn't want to share it with anyone. So this pound cake was a big hit at my house. The only problem I had was it made to much batter for my bundt pan, so it ran over into my oven. This was my fault I should have relized the pan had to much batter. Next time I will make some cupcakes with the extra batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe was the recipe I was looking for. Great taste,texture and moisture.I fold in the flour and milk rather then using the mixer,that allowed for the air and fluffiness that was in the egg,sugar and butter/shortening to remain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving it was gone the same night. Yummy moist and just delicious. Used almond extract was still good Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thaqueentj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Great moist cake, I cut down the butter to 1/2 a cup and substituted the other half with vegetable oil. A keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I just made this cake tonite! Very easy, but. I did make some alternates; I used buttermilk instead of milk, butter flavor crisco for the shortening, and cake flour instead of all purpose flour. I then made a simple syrup to coat the top after it cooled to help the glaze stick, and made a lemon glaze! Very moist, dense, full of flavor,taste just like the Lemon slice cakeat Starbucks! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Turns out perfectly every time. Wonderful with a vanilla glaze on top too! Will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I absolutely love this recipe! I have made it several times, it is the first thing I ever made from scratch, and people love it! I get requests to bring this cake to family functions, and was showing off for one of my bosses, and now he loves it too! The only thing I added, was a package of cream cheese(because my grandmother added it to her cakes and they were delicious) and I have had no complaints yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This is a excellent cake the only reason this get 4 stars is for the large amount of calories you get from eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this and it was gone in a night when the BF brought over some friends :) didn't change much except a little less cooking time, mine got a little overly cripsy on the outside
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrelgurl07

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manistee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I made this for a New Years Eve party. I was left with a plate of crumbs. It's a great recipe. I added additional flavorings because I was looking to recreate a childhood favorite. I added almond and coconut flavoring in addition to vanilla and lemon. It gives a very distinct flavor. And it is soooo very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States