Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is a really good, easy cake to make. I also used 2 separate bread pans, it took a little less time to bake, 1 hr 10 minutes... Vicki
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This is a good basic pound cake. I made it for a bake sale and sold nearly all the slices. I omitted the lemon extract...next time I'll double the vanilla extract. Thanks Morgan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Excellent recipe! I got interrupted halfway through making this cake and had to leave the batter in the fridge overnight in a saran wrapped bowl. I worried it would affect it, but it came out just lovely. I used margarine instead of butter and shortening, because that's all I had. Also, I made cupcakes with this instead of loaves. Made about three dozen, and cooked up nicely in about 30-40 minutes, depending on the size of your cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Delish! The time is way too long....55 min is all it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this but like another reviewer I did not have lemon extract, so I just used the vanilla. After it was done and cooled I put on a small amount of vanilla frosting glaze. This cake is moist and yummy. My granddaughter got to take what was left home. Her mother said she didn't want to share it with anyone. So this pound cake was a big hit at my house. The only problem I had was it made to much batter for my bundt pan, so it ran over into my oven. This was my fault I should have relized the pan had to much batter. Next time I will make some cupcakes with the extra batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This recipe was the recipe I was looking for. Great taste,texture and moisture.I fold in the flour and milk rather then using the mixer,that allowed for the air and fluffiness that was in the egg,sugar and butter/shortening to remain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving it was gone the same night. Yummy moist and just delicious. Used almond extract was still good Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thaqueentj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Great moist cake, I cut down the butter to 1/2 a cup and substituted the other half with vegetable oil. A keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beirut, Beirut, Lebanon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I just made this cake tonite! Very easy, but. I did make some alternates; I used buttermilk instead of milk, butter flavor crisco for the shortening, and cake flour instead of all purpose flour. I then made a simple syrup to coat the top after it cooled to help the glaze stick, and made a lemon glaze! Very moist, dense, full of flavor,taste just like the Lemon slice cakeat Starbucks! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Turns out perfectly every time. Wonderful with a vanilla glaze on top too! Will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States