Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Excellent taste! I made one small change: 1-1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp rum extract and it gave great flavor. I baked in 2 loaf pans and they are gorgeous cakes. Served with a brown sugar caramel sauce. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissRachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
What a wonderful and tastey cake! Very moist! It's just as good after being frozen for a few weeks. (wrapped in plastic, foil and then bagged) I will use this recipe often! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGrama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I wasn't impressed by this recipe. I followed it exactly but it definitely did not need to be baked as long as the recipe indicates! Mine was only in the oven for 55 mins (including the time it sat in the cold oven while preheating). The top had a strange texture and the sides got hard and sort of crystalized. I had to cut off the sides because they were inedible. That was ok though, because I was cutting the cake into pieces for dessert skewers anyway. The rest of the cake tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I love this recipe! the first time I made a bund cake and turned out so well. the second time I made it in a metal loaf pan but the edges turned out a bit too over done and in the middle there was still a small uncooked spot. Bund cake it is! Thanks. will be making this many more times. I also added icing. so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Loved it!! My family and I loved this cake so much!!! Especially since the lemon extract gives it this really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This cake is absolutely delicious. I followed the directions minus the lemon(Because I didn't have any) and it came out as perfection. I used a cheese cake pan and it rocked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
finally a pound cake thats easy and delicious! came out perfect...this is my go to pound cake from now on. Be sure to use parchment paper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I was out of ingredients I usually make my pound cake with and searched AR for a different recipe. I chose this one but was disappointed. I followed it to the letter except it tested done at 70 minutes instead of 80. After cooling for an hour, I removed from the parchment lined tube pan. It basically fell apart. My family did not not like the taste and texture as well as other recipes. I sliced and crumbled it up and am now toasting it. My husband will eat anything that is toasted. I was disappointed in the results and will not try this again. I see this recipe a lot in cookbooks and thought that it would be a good one. It was not our taste preference but the texture was the most disappointing of all. I needed it for a charity donation so now I have to make another one. Will make a trip to store and make my recipe. Sorry to all of you who love it but taste is an individual preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maysville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was the very first cake I bake ever. At 51 years of age I decided to try baking. This cake turn out so well, I drove 20 miles to share it with may family, (not all of it of course). I looking for a great Apple pie recipe now. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANJACKSON
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was a very yummy pound cake! I have made a few from AR now - the Cream Cheese Pound Cake being one of my faves. I decided to not use the lemon extract in this and added another tsp of vanilla extract instead. Also used Silk Vanilla Light Soy in place of the milk. 'Iced' it with Hard Chocolate Glaze from AR (as shown in my picture, it was not yet cooled)! Great combo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States