Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is a really good basic pound cake. I used it to make strawberry shortcakes. The light lemon flavor went really well with the strawberries! I put it in whatever pans I had laying around in my kitchen. It made LOTS of cake so I froze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
We all really enjoyed the pound cake, thanks for the recipe. We used vanilla extract because we didn't have lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Too bad there are not more stars! This is just like what I remember growing up as a kid. I used 3 sticks of butter instead of butter and shortening (only because I had put three sticks of butter in the mixer before I realized). And since my family is not big on lemon I used vanilla and almond flavoring. I am really impressed with the texture of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Wynne, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Absolutely Yummy! I baked mine in a 9.5" square pan, and it came out great. follow the recipe when it says to put in a COLD oven, and you shouldn't have any problems with overbaking. If you preheat your oven, or use 2 smaller pans, you will of course alter your bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I skipped the wax paper. I just sprayed the pan with non-stick cooking spray and then sprinkled it with sugar. It was great! It added some texture to the crust and made it sparkle! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oopsadazy27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I baked this cake for 70 minutes and it came out looking wonderful. The toothpick came out clean. When I went to take it out of the pan, I found that it had fallen. I am certain that I added the baking powder. I do a lot of baking and have never had a cake fall before. When we cut into the cake 5 hours later, it looked uncooked in the center. Couldn't figure this one out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was a very good cake. The texture and taste were like a commerical pound cake. I did not use lemon extract, instead adding two teaspoons of vanilla. I used two loaf pans and it filled both. For one cake, I would suggest halving the recipe next time. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this recipe Christmas Eve. I followed it to the letter - except I used a bundt cake pan with NO wax paper - just sprayed it with PAM spray and coated lightly with flour. All I can say is that it is out of this world good. This is the recipe I have been looking for all these years. The cold oven start gives it that good crusty outer layer. Fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I made this for a friend's wedding. It was the best textured and best flavored cake white cake I have ever made. I will never need another pound cake receipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This cake was very tasty! My family complained about it not being moist enough. So the next time I make, I'll be looking for suggestions on how to make it moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States