Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was my first pound cake, and it tastes great. Baking it for the 1 hour and 20 minutes was perfect in my oven, starting from cold. I followed the recipe exactly except used salted butter instead of unsalted and it tastes fine. Next time I'll try using all butter and no shortening. The lemon extract I used was VERY old, but still tastes good. I think next time I'll try all vanilla to see if we like that better or not. We'll be using this with sugared strawberries and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is now my 'go to' pound cake recipe. I followed it to the letter, and it was smooth and the consistency was fantastic. It was a bit much for my Pampered Chef bundt stone, so it did bake over the stone a bit, but I will make it again and again. I also make a powered sugar, cream, and lemon extract icing and drizzle it on top of the cake. It really makes it beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is the first pound cake I've ever made. It tastes great-- it's not too buttery or sweet, but a good, moist combination of both. I'm using it in a berry trifle and I have a feeling that it'll be perfect! Thanks for the recipe! I plan on using it again for strawberry shortcake. Also, just as a note, this recipe makes a heaping bowl full of batter; I filled one loaf pan and one round cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was a really good recipe. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made a rookie mistake and only used 1 stick of butter instead of two, but it still came out great! Now that's a good recipe! I did loose some of that buttery flavor so I topped it with a buttercream icing and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
You can stop searching for pound cake recipes. This is fantastic. I added lemon extract to mine along with the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juli Carvi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This pound cake is EXCELLENT!!! I have made about 7 of these within a 2 wk time period. I make them & by the next day, its gone! When I made my first one I used 2 tsp vanilla extract because I do not keep any other extracts on hand. Needless to say, it was such a hit that I make them all like that- I have never used the lemon. To avoid over mixing (I'm really good for doing that) I stop using the mixer and I mix with a fork when its time to alternate the flour mixture & the milk. Placing it in a cold oven and waiting an hour and 20 minutes after you set the oven temperature makes for a PERFECT cake everytime! Thank you sooo much for this recipe. I will use this everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dna.09

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by athuff02
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
This cake turned out great! It was soft and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by athuff02

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Very nice pound cake. Although I will say, I LOVE Sarah Lee pound cake and it does not taste like Sarah Lee; but still good. I used all butter in place of shortening. Also omitted lemon and added more vanilla. The cooking time was perfect (as long as you are using a 10 in loaf pan). Makes a lot, so make sure there are plenty of people around to eat this pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dilnavaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I found this recipe a few months ago and have been using it ever since. This is an excellent recipe. I had always been more of a cooker than a baker and this was my first try at baking from scratch. Im not one of those reviewers who is always altering the entire recipe, however, the cooking time can be reduced about 5 minutes. That is just my personal preference. Delicious recipe...thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davidsonville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States