Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Kat-tastic
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This was very good, although not amazing. I followed the recipe exactly. It baked perfectly and turned out very pretty! I mixed 1/2 c. white sugar and 2 Tbsp. milk to drizzle over the top. It looked great, but tasted a bit floury. I didn't love it, but my boyfriend devoured it! It actually tasted better the next day. I will use this recipe again, but I'm still on the lookout for the perfect pound cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat-tastic
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Great! I only had to cook it for an hour. Very moist. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bethel Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blue_steph
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I tried lots of recipes for the perfect pound cake and I finally found it! I omitted the lemon flavor and used fresh lemon juice instead. The cake came out perfect and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue_steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moncks Corner, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Very good pound cake recipe. I added chocolate chips to the batter and it was delish!!! Thank You so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyndeG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This recipe is PERFECTION. I have made it probably 7 or 8 times now and it has been perfect every time. I use a basic bundt pan. It rises pretty high, but never spills out. I nix the lemon extract, and instead use zest and juice of one lemon. To take it up a notch, after it cools completely, sear it by the slice until golden brown in a little butter, then serve with whipped cream, strawberries, and caramel. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
It was really good. I put in 2 tsp. of vanilla and then added juice from half a lemon. The flavor was great and it was easy to make. Although the texture was slightly dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
This was awesome! It was moist dense and soft. My family and I loved the pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Luv2Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Amazing cake! Beautiful inside and out. Smooth, moist texture. Make sure you sift the flour, makes a huge difference. The only thing I did not like was that I could taste the shortening a lil more than I would like, although my husband didnt notice it. Next time I will cut back on the shortening and add a lil more butter. I also did double vanilla instead of lemon extract. I cooked it in a bundt pan in a cold oven for 1 hour then turned the oven off and let it stay in for another 15 minutes. Was perfect! Cant wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by D_GOODEN
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
My family loved it!! It continued to rise very high, that it worried me. But it was great!! Will make this again. Taste very old school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D_GOODEN
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
For me, this recipe was quite easy. I used my KitchenAid mixer to cream the butter/sugar for 6 minutes. This is the second time I've used this recipe and hubby loves it, so do I. We prefer a stronger vanilla flavor so I omitted the lemon and added more vanilla. It's great! Thanks for another great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States