Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Another Excellent Rating for this cake! Apparently, it's almost foolproof - I misread the temp and used 375 instead of 350. It was browning after 55 minutes, so I removed it and it was perfect and not dry at all. This recipe is in my permanent library.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
this is simply amazing, though I made half of the recipe. its too good. One time, i substitutes shortening with butter making all butter and it was tasty. Both way is good. Try this recipe and trust me you wont regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
IT WAS DELICIOUS !!! THE ONLY THING I DID DIFERENT WAS ADD SEMI-SWEET CHOCOLATE CHIPS!! MY KIDS LOVED IT AND SO DID MY HUSBAND!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaCandela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rougemont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
ok i have made this alot so here it goes.i just made a lil changes..3 cups not 2/2/3 of surgar..2 teaspoon of vanilla not 1 teaspoon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonathan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was my first pound cake, and it tastes great. Baking it for the 1 hour and 20 minutes was perfect in my oven, starting from cold. I followed the recipe exactly except used salted butter instead of unsalted and it tastes fine. Next time I'll try using all butter and no shortening. The lemon extract I used was VERY old, but still tastes good. I think next time I'll try all vanilla to see if we like that better or not. We'll be using this with sugared strawberries and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is now my 'go to' pound cake recipe. I followed it to the letter, and it was smooth and the consistency was fantastic. It was a bit much for my Pampered Chef bundt stone, so it did bake over the stone a bit, but I will make it again and again. I also make a powered sugar, cream, and lemon extract icing and drizzle it on top of the cake. It really makes it beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is the first pound cake I've ever made. It tastes great-- it's not too buttery or sweet, but a good, moist combination of both. I'm using it in a berry trifle and I have a feeling that it'll be perfect! Thanks for the recipe! I plan on using it again for strawberry shortcake. Also, just as a note, this recipe makes a heaping bowl full of batter; I filled one loaf pan and one round cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was a really good recipe. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made a rookie mistake and only used 1 stick of butter instead of two, but it still came out great! Now that's a good recipe! I did loose some of that buttery flavor so I topped it with a buttercream icing and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
You can stop searching for pound cake recipes. This is fantastic. I added lemon extract to mine along with the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juli Carvi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States