Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
this is simply amazing, though I made half of the recipe. its too good. One time, i substitutes shortening with butter making all butter and it was tasty. Both way is good. Try this recipe and trust me you wont regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
IT WAS DELICIOUS !!! THE ONLY THING I DID DIFERENT WAS ADD SEMI-SWEET CHOCOLATE CHIPS!! MY KIDS LOVED IT AND SO DID MY HUSBAND!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaCandela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rougemont, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
ok i have made this alot so here it goes.i just made a lil changes..3 cups not 2/2/3 of surgar..2 teaspoon of vanilla not 1 teaspoon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonathan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
This was my first pound cake, and it tastes great. Baking it for the 1 hour and 20 minutes was perfect in my oven, starting from cold. I followed the recipe exactly except used salted butter instead of unsalted and it tastes fine. Next time I'll try using all butter and no shortening. The lemon extract I used was VERY old, but still tastes good. I think next time I'll try all vanilla to see if we like that better or not. We'll be using this with sugared strawberries and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This is now my 'go to' pound cake recipe. I followed it to the letter, and it was smooth and the consistency was fantastic. It was a bit much for my Pampered Chef bundt stone, so it did bake over the stone a bit, but I will make it again and again. I also make a powered sugar, cream, and lemon extract icing and drizzle it on top of the cake. It really makes it beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is the first pound cake I've ever made. It tastes great-- it's not too buttery or sweet, but a good, moist combination of both. I'm using it in a berry trifle and I have a feeling that it'll be perfect! Thanks for the recipe! I plan on using it again for strawberry shortcake. Also, just as a note, this recipe makes a heaping bowl full of batter; I filled one loaf pan and one round cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was a really good recipe. I followed the directions exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I made a rookie mistake and only used 1 stick of butter instead of two, but it still came out great! Now that's a good recipe! I did loose some of that buttery flavor so I topped it with a buttercream icing and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
You can stop searching for pound cake recipes. This is fantastic. I added lemon extract to mine along with the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This pound cake is EXCELLENT!!! I have made about 7 of these within a 2 wk time period. I make them & by the next day, its gone! When I made my first one I used 2 tsp vanilla extract because I do not keep any other extracts on hand. Needless to say, it was such a hit that I make them all like that- I have never used the lemon. To avoid over mixing (I'm really good for doing that) I stop using the mixer and I mix with a fork when its time to alternate the flour mixture & the milk. Placing it in a cold oven and waiting an hour and 20 minutes after you set the oven temperature makes for a PERFECT cake everytime! Thank you sooo much for this recipe. I will use this everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dna.09

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States