Country Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I made this for Easter and have to say it was a hit with the family! The only change I made was to increase the sugar to 3 cups... Will make this again and try different extracts:) it had an amazing crust and the crumb was perfect! I made the vanilla glaze on this site to top it... Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillasmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe! I halved the recipe and made it in a 9x5 loaf pan. It also only needed to bake for an hour. Other than that I made it according to the recipe, and it turned out fantastic. Like others have said, the texture is light and airy like a commercial cake. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Best, most moist pound cake I've ever had. Crust was beautifully crunchy, middle was very light and perfect lemon/vanilla flavor. Be sure to mix the cream as long as it says; incorporating air is key to keeping the cake moist. I didn't use parchment/wax paper, and I used a bundt pan. I also didn't need the full 1 hour 20 minutes (cooking at ~4800 ft altitude). I couldn't wait the full 3 hours of cooling; I had my first piece an hour after it came out of the oven. Man, oh man, was it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean Kirkby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
mmm! made dairy-free by using original almond milk. also 2 tsp vanilla and skipped the lemon. poured it into 2 loaf pans - created 2 heavenly loaves in just over an hour. thanks morgan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I made this pound cake for my family and it was so moist and delicious. You really do have to beat the mixture for about 10 minutes. I would make this cake again and have already given this recipe out! If I were to change anything I might add a bit more lemon because I'm a fan of lemon flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I've never made a pound cake before but was looking for something creative to bring to work and the pound cake fit the bill (using it in a fruit trifle). I followed the instructions and cooked it for 70 min instead of 80 - it was perfect. I substituted cherry extract for the lemon and added finely chopped glace cherries - yummy! I'm already planning the next one, with orange extract and orange peel, with an orange glaze. I never knew pound cake was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEVANG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
My parents loved this recipe. It is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I baked this cake last weekend and served it with strawberries, chocolate sauce and whipped cream! WOW what a hit! I followed directions exactly as written and it was moist, had a beautiful crumb and perfect flavor! Thanks so much for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this cake for Christmas. This was my first pound cake. It was wonderful. This is a great and simple recipe. It tasted like the ones the old ladies at church make. I baked it in a bundt cake pan for one hour. I think to bake it longer would have made it dry out. I did not use wax paper or parchment paper. I sprayed my pan with baking spray. It was moist and dense (as pound cake should be).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
As close to perfect as it gets! This is the best scratch pound cake period! Not for folks watching calories. I just had to make this for the holidays and got rave reviews. I added a orange-lemon drizzle instead of icing. This will be a desert mainstay for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States